Improving Motorola XTS 2500 Model II Reception?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I'm a firefighter/EMS in my county, and I have a Motorola XTS 2500 Model II Radio with a red coded
800-900MHz dipole antenna. We are an all-volunteer hall, and we depend on our pagers/radios to
know when a call has come in.

My problem is that when I am at work, I get OUT OF RANGE errors all the time. When I move to a
window, or just outside the building, I get full reception. What I'm looking for, is a method to improve
reception inside. My pager also does not work indoors here. This place is built like a friggin faraday cage
with all steel studs, thick concrete floors, etc. Cell phones do work OK.

I can easily run an external antenna out to our rooftop. What I don't know, is if this is a feasible
choice for me. I'm not an expert on Radios at all, but I do know a licensed HAM operator that I could
talk to for further (local) advice. I'm hoping I could pass some suggestions from here, on to him and
we could work up a solution.

Any tips or suggestions on what I can do? I don't want to be missing calls just because I'm 25 feet away
from a window.

Thank you!

vinzep491

Are the other firefighters in your units experiencing the same issues with their handhelds, or is this a problem specific to your radio?

If it's a matter of swapping out your antenna that is one thing, but you cannot comtrol how the system was setup. Maybe the tower is just a little too far away.

Are the other firefighters in your units experiencing the same issues with their handhelds, or is this a problem specific to your radio?

If it's a matter of swapping out your antenna that is one thing, but you cannot comtrol how the system was setup. Maybe the tower is just a little too far away.

Thanks for the reply!

I am certain that if anyone else in my department worked where I do, that their handhelds would also
experience this issue.