in a hole antenna range

kc1umh

I am new to this HAM radio experience. I have just received my license a few months ago and have 3 handheld transceivers Icom id-51, Baofeng uv-51 and a Qrp-1. All 3 seem to have a very short range of reception. I've purchased a mag mount antenna, and 2 different size Abbrree antennas. None of these seem to give me any ability to receive a strong signal. I have taken said handheld radios in a car as a passenger and tried to acquire a strong signal with their respective antennas and with Abbrree antenna. Very limited reception. Any idea of what I can try next other than putting up a tall antenna. Any and all comments accepted.

Thanks...... KC1UMH.....

alcahuete

Premium Subscriber
Unless you're going through a repeater, your range on handhelds is going to be very limited. You're also using the absolute cheapest radios (aside from the Icom) and antennas money can buy. That isn't necessarily going to help the cause either.

What "strong signal" are you trying to pick up exactly? One handheld to another?

hazrat8990

Premium Subscriber
Several things are working against you. First of all, the cheap radios have a wide open receiver with no filtering, the Abbree antennas are mostly hype and cheaply made, and using a handheld radio in a car is equivalent to being in a Faraday cage.

The Icom is the best one of the group by a large margin, but will still suffer inside of a vehicle. The mag mount antenna, and Icom radio will be the best setup, as long as the antenna is properly tuned for the band you're operating in.

kc1umh

Out of the three handheld radios that I used, the icon id-5 video with the car antenna still didn't receive any single. the testing was done outside on the porch. So I think the area that I'm in is in a depression where the radio signals don't reach out.