• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Increasing limit of total available channels

Status
Not open for further replies.

Samyham

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2015
Messages
9
My baofeng UV-82C has a 120(?) channels available. I need more. I'm relatively inexperienced. Is there a way to increase this total?
 

mehran_o0o

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 18, 2016
Messages
2
no, this number which I believe for you is 127 channels is not a random number, its basically the amount of memory your device has devided by the amount of bytes each channel will take. 127 is actually 128 but the first one is location 0 on the memory. 127 channels usually tell me that the radio is prbably has a 256 KB storage. I may be wrong on the storage capacity, but no there is no way to add more.
 

jonwienke

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
9,212
Location
PA
Channel memories is not something you can change. If you need more than 128 channel memories, you need to buy a different radio.Why do you need more?
 

robertmac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,150
From other posts, he wants them for "preparedness". With the low cost of these radios and their slow scanning, it may be easier to buy more of the CCR. I have a feeling being licensed as an amateur radio operator is not important to him.
 

Samyham

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2015
Messages
9
no, this number which I believe for you is 127 channels is not a random number, its basically the amount of memory your device has devided by the amount of bytes each channel will take. 127 is actually 128 but the first one is location 0 on the memory. 127 channels usually tell me that the radio is prbably has a 256 KB storage. I may be wrong on the storage capacity, but no there is no way to add more.
Thanks for your informed and thoughtful reply. That's interesting about the number of channels not just being a random number. Makes sense for why such an odd number. I hear that some of the higher end HTs have 'hundreds' of channels. I guess an option to get more channels would be to just get another affordable, inexpensive HT.

I've been surprised to see some ignorant, infantile posts in this forum. I didn't think I would need to figure out how to bring such posts to the attention of the moderators but I guess I should. Ah well, such is life.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
10,904
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
Thanks for your informed and thoughtful reply. That's interesting about the number of channels not just being a random number. Makes sense for why such an odd number. I hear that some of the higher end HTs have 'hundreds' of channels. I guess an option to get more channels would be to just get another affordable, inexpensive HT.
There are a lot of options out there, even some of the Cheap Chinese Radios. Stepping up to higher end radios will easily (but expensively) get you into the thousands of channels.

I've been surprised to see some ignorant, infantile posts in this forum. I didn't think I would need to figure out how to bring such posts to the attention of the moderators but I guess I should. Ah well, such is life.
If you ever get over on any of the professional radio websites, you'll find that this is exactly what Radio Reference is known for. Some sites have even run "Stupid Radio Reference Post Of The Day" threads.
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
1,804
Location
Michigan
Even less expensive radios have more storage for frequencies. The Yaesu FT-60 ($160) has 1000 memory spaces, and the CS 750 DMR ($180) has 2000. The FT-60 also has an extensive system for setting up banks and scanning.
 

jtderby

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Sparta, NJ
Second the FT-60. Dollar for dollar I don't think it can be beat for an analog foundational dual band HT. Great to use, learn and grow with. Buy one, you won't be sorry.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top