Input Frequency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fstaff

What does the input frequency mean? I'm pretty new to scanning and wasn't sure if I should put it in my scanner too or not.

Thanks,
Frank

gmclam

Premium Subscriber
Input frequencies are very useful

There are cases where what is listed as an "input" frequency is not actually that. One example is the CHP (California Highway Patrol). In their case the dispatcher talks on one frequency (listed as output) and the cars talk on another (listed as input). While cars in some districts are repeated, there are quite a few where they are not. So in my case I must program both frequencies, one to hear each side of a conversation.

There are other situations where knowing an input frequency is very handy. Perhaps you are quite some distance from a repeater, but very close to the scene of an incident. You might actually pick up what is going on more clearly by listening to the input. There's some wild stuff out there and I couldn't describe it all here by any means. Another example might be where an agency changes their CT frequency so the repeater is not triggered. This would usually greatly reduce the area something is broadcast.

btritch