Insight on Buying a Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Springbuck

Hi,

I am new to radioreference and the world of scanning! I have been going online and learning as much as I can in regards to scanning, and I would like to purchase a scanner for myself! My only question is that I live in British Columbia and am curious whether I need to purchase a trunking and digital scanner or whether I can still get away with regular analog scanners? I would like to use the scanner to monitor Law Enforcement, and Emergency services but I am just unsure whether I need the digital and trunking systems! I would like to save some money if I can, and so if a digital and trunking system is not needed then that would be great!

Your comments are appreciated!

Springbuck

Thanks for the welcome!

I am located in the Fraser Valley and do most of my travels in this region, however I frequently do commute through the Thompson-Nicola, Okanagan- Similkameen, and Central Okanagan counties. And on some occasions I travel into the Greater Vancouver region. It would be nice to get into something that can cover all of these areas if I am moving through one or the other.

My primary concerns would be the Fraser Valley, Thompson-Nicola, Okanagan-Similkameen, and the Central Okanagan counties.

Thanks for your time!

BC_Scan

Well for the time being in the FV you could get away with Analog, but the alarming trend by the RC's is to go p25 ENCRYPT, so that is the irreconcilable future, possibly as well for the rest of the Province, I am suprised Abby PD has gone digital yet seeing as they have many reason's to. but for the other area's you mentioned analog -non trunked is good,