Introducing LEDACS-ESK - Linux EDACS ESK Trunk Tracking CLI Software

Status
Not open for further replies.

lwvmobile

DSD-FME
Have a Linux Desktop or a Raspberry Pi 3B+?
Want to track EDACS 9600/EDACS ESK with EA?
Want to help a piddly project with helpful feedback and ideas?

Well, I want to formally introduce a software project that I've been working on for the past several months.

It is a Linux based command line interface software that can lock onto EDACS 9600 control signals using one RTL dongle, and tune to the required LCN channel with a second dongle. The current feature set includes displaying an IDLE status with Site ID, Showing Voice channels when they are active with current LCN number, the group ID and Sender ID within the active voice channel assignment, tuning said voice channels with the second dongle, an Allow/Deny list to actively allow or block group or sender ID numbers, and display status and dump full frame messages with debug verbosity turned on.

So far, I have gotten this software to work quite well with Florida's SLERS system. I have not been able to test this with other variants of EDACS, and if anybody would want to test that and give feedback, I would be thrilled.

To see more on my project and try it out, you can visit my github page:

Just read the readme.txt to get it compiled and running, so far its tested and working well on Ubuntu 18.04 based distros and Rasberry Pi 3B+ with Raspian Buster. I believe it should work just fine as well on many other Linux systems, just some of the dependencies may be slightly different.

Here is a sample of the output you get for those who want to see a little demo. In the demo, all the voice was encrypted, but there are some groups that aren't, but I couldn't capture them in my little test run for the video demo.

And if you need a look at the sample output from the software, here is a copy paste of it in case the video was a bit difficult to read.

Code:
Sockets successfully initialized