Introduction to ham radio for gray hairs?

TrainsOfThought

Land, waters, sky...an entire universe to monitor!
Premium Subscriber
I was a huge scanner enthusiast until the 90's /2000. Retired in 2018 and getting back into scanning HEAVY. BUT...I've been fascinated by radio communication since high school and a GREAT mentor high school Earth Science teacher. All these years scanning, since there is a crossover-of-sorts I've "casually" followed accompanying ham radio stories, tutorials, principle articles. At age 62 and non/difficult "techy" is it too late for me to study ham radio farther? Am I stuck with Ham Radio for Dummies (or brain-dead morons in my case) or is there something else? Or just "go the course" to see how I do?

Thanks for any ideas. Loving life here on RadioReference.

marlin39a

Premium Subscriber
I got my Technician license at 62, after wanting to pursue it since my teens. I studied online, taking sample tests for several weeks. Recently got my GMRS ticket also. I’m not very active, being a listener more than a talker. Go for it.

ka3aaa

Premium Subscriber
How bad do you want to get your ticket, its never to late to learn something new, you need to crawl before you can walk, just like ham radio, there are many aspects of and things to do in ham radio, take your time and go one step at a time. If you can handle today's scanners which have a very steep learning curve, you can get your ticket. The secret to learning something new is study for a few hours and then let it lay for a while and pick it up later on, your under no pressure from anyone but your self. Good luck.

Oh wow, Trains--- becoming a ham never has been easier.

I posted a pep-talk about this for another fellow just a little while ago-- this is an extract of that --

I have several girlfriends that decided, quite on-the-moment, they wanted to become hams---