• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

is the bct15 good for RR feqs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nattybohhoe

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
74
Location
Baltimore
ok im sure u seen my posts about the bcd396t. and i dont think i wanan soend 550. on my first scanner. i bought a bct15 lastnight and a 2 meter ham band antenna for the RR feqs. what i was wondering if its good for the RR feqs. its got a nice display and looks good. the price was right
200 shipped. so i bought it. also i read on a website that the 2 meter ham band antenna is good for the RR feqs. does anyone else have any info or input about this? thanks alot.

also, is it true that a base scanner gets better signal than a mobil scanner?
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
Yes, the BCT15 will pick up the railroad band. A 2 meter antenna is cut for the center of the band at about 146 MHz. Rail band is roughly 160-162 MHz, so the 2 meter antenna will work ok. The newer Uniden scanners with dynamic memory include the service search with the rail band and will show the channel numbers with the frequency and also include the UHf end of train frequencies used to send low power break pressure data.
 

nattybohhoe

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
74
Location
Baltimore
hahaa this is my first scanner. so im arleady lost. do you know any good base antennas for Rr then? thanks alot. and also should i program the channels in myself so i can learn the scanner or use butel?
 

Al42

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
3,485
Location
Long Island, NY, USA
First decide how you want to program them - just randomly, or certain frequencies in certain banks? By company, use, etc.?

Then program some of tghem manually, so you get a feel for the scanner. I'd definitely get some software, so that once I had it programmed the way I liked it, I could do it again if I had to reset the scanner.

As far as antennas, try the 2 meter antenna. If it doesn't work well, you can always get another one. But, depending on what type it is (ground plane, Ringo), you may be able to tune it up to 160 MHz.
 

GrayWolfSA58

Member
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
163
nattybohhoe said:
hahaa this is my first scanner. so im arleady lost. do you know any good base antennas for Rr then? thanks alot. and also should i program the channels in myself so i can learn the scanner or use butel?
scantenna.........
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
Of course if you only wanted to listen to Rail frequencies, you could cut the 2 meter antenna down to than band, but as GreyWolf mentioned, a Scanntenna will work well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top