Is there an easy way to program bc246t for the GTA

Status
Not open for further replies.

cosway

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
21
Location
Ontario
I just got this unit and have no manual :confused:
so i'm stuck on 866.2375 which souds lik TO cops
 

davidmc36

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
1,847
Location
South East Ontario
Not sure about the details for TO but this should help you with the lack of manual.

Try some searching in the forums (here and Yahoo) and you should find some discussion of GTA programming.
 

Chrome69

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Messages
902
Location
Ontario, Canada
brutel software is the best for programming, also you can download the manual from uniden. Google is your friend.. :D
 

cosway

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
21
Location
Ontario
It did not come with the computer cable but judging by the photos its not a USB cable so where does it plug into?

The guy at Dhuram Radio could not help me at all :(
 

h4waii

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
22
Location
Elysium Fields
It's a RS232/Serial cable. Easiest way to program it is using BuTeL or BCTool (which is free).

Try BCTool with a cable and if you don't like it, use ARC246. I used ARC for my 246 and currently use it for my 396.
 

cosway

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
21
Location
Ontario
thank you. I just noticed there is also a USB-1 cable that can be used.
is the USB just as good?
 

cosway

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
21
Location
Ontario

davidmc36

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
1,847
Location
South East Ontario
Thanks, yah I don't have that port on my lap top.
The USB-1 that you mentioned is a cord and USB-SERIAL converter all rolled into one. Separate converters can be had very cheap but if you have no cable at all to start with the USB-1 would be a great way to get hooked up.

Probably the most frequent mistakes that are made are incorrect drivers or plugging the cable into your ocmputer before installing the software. Both are a must do for proper function. Get the right drivers and install them before plugging in the USB-1.

After that it will be painless.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top