JOCO P25 System Not Working with 396XT

Status
Not open for further replies.

bhollingsworth

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
13
Up until a few days ago I was having no problems listening to operations in JOCO, from Merriam, Olathe, OP and other departments.

Now everything is silent. My 396XT gives me nothing on this system anymore, while weather and other conventional scanning works fine.

When scanning the Signal Strength bars in the top right of the scanner flash off and then full... am I missing something here? I have the 14 frequencies listed for JOCO still in the scanner. Could something have become corrupted? Should I nuke it with FreeScan and start a fresh load?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,
 

PVPD730

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
805
Up until a few days ago I was having no problems listening to operations in JOCO, from Merriam, Olathe, OP and other departments.

Now everything is silent. My 396XT gives me nothing on this system anymore, while weather and other conventional scanning works fine.

When scanning the Signal Strength bars in the top right of the scanner flash off and then full... am I missing something here? I have the 14 frequencies listed for JOCO still in the scanner. Could something have become corrupted? Should I nuke it with FreeScan and start a fresh load?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,
All you really need to program is the 3 control channels:
774.73125 (this one is currently active)
853.775
853.9625

I'm picking up everything loud and clear from the South end of downtown using a 396XT.
 

UPMan

In Memoriam
Uniden Representative
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,296
Location
Arlington, TX
Is it possible you've locked out the channels or disabled the channel group QKs for the local channels?
 

bhollingsworth

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
13
All you really need to program is the 3 control channels:
774.73125 (this one is currently active)
853.775
853.9625

I'm picking up everything loud and clear from the South end of downtown using a 396XT.
Good to know and thank you for the feedback. I will dump the rest of the frequencies and keep it simple.
 

bhollingsworth

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
13

linanbob

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
2
All you really need to program is the 3 control channels:
774.73125 (this one is currently active)
853.775
853.9625

I'm picking up everything loud and clear from the South end of downtown using a 396XT.
Unfortunately, you didn't really answer the question. I've noted exactly the same thing. JOCO working just fine until the last day or two. Tonight, nothing. Radio programming is untouched.

Was speculating the whole system was switched to encrypted due to Obama's visit, but that seems a stretch.

(Edit) Tried the three-freq program and did find the OPPD tg. Thanks for that tip. Still want to know what changed that caused previously working programming to simply stop.
 
Last edited:

PVPD730

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
805
It's accurate for the most part, however the frequency lineup (specifically the control channels) for JOCO is a bit off. These are what I logged for that portion of the MARRS System with pro96com:
-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"00-0041","vd",851.26250,"00-0041",806.26250,0,3
"00-0085","vdi",851.53750,"00-0085",806.53750,0,1
"00-0291","vd",852.82500,"00-0291",807.82500,0,6
"00-0335","vd",853.10000,"00-0335",808.10000,0,2
"00-0375","vd",853.35000,"00-0375",808.35000,0,2
"00-0443","av",853.77500,"00-0443",808.77500,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0473","ca",853.96250,"00-0473",808.96250,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0953","vd",856.96250,"00-0953",811.96250,0,4
"00-1113","vd",857.96250,"00-1113",812.96250,0,2
"00-1273","vd",858.96250,"00-1273",813.96250,0,3
"00-1381","vd",859.63750,"00-1381",814.63750,0,8
"00-1433","vd",859.96250,"00-1433",814.96250,0,0
"01-1532","vd",771.58125,"01-1532",801.58125,0,4
"01-1652","vd",772.33125,"01-1652",802.33125,0,1
"01-1732","vd",772.83125,"01-1732",802.83125,0,8
"01-1832","vd",773.45625,"01-1832",803.45625,0,3
"01-1956","vd",774.23125,"01-1956",804.23125,0,1
"01-2036","c",774.73125,"01-2036",804.73125,0,0-current control channel

For KCMO:
-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"00-0007","a",851.05000,"00-0007",806.05000,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0021","v",851.13750,"00-0021",806.13750,0,0
"00-0043","v",851.27500,"00-0043",806.27500,0,0
"00-0051","av",851.32500,"00-0051",806.32500,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0077","i",851.48750,"00-0077",806.48750,0,0
"00-0095","ca",851.60000,"00-0095",806.60000,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0131","vp",851.82500,"15-4095",0.00000,1,2
"00-0137","cv",851.86250,"00-0137",806.86250,0,0-current control channel
"00-0167","vp",852.05000,"00-0167",807.05000,0,2
"00-0170","v",852.06875,"00-0170",807.06875,0,0
"00-0171","vp",852.07500,"00-0171",807.07500,0,3
"00-0187","vp",852.17500,"00-0187",807.17500,0,0
"00-0195","vp",852.22500,"00-0195",807.22500,0,2
"00-0199","v",852.25000,"00-0199",807.25000,0,0
"00-0224","v",852.40625,"00-0224",807.40625,0,0
"00-0225","vp",852.41250,"15-4095",0.00000,1,2
"00-0229","vp",852.43750,"00-0229",807.43750,0,3
"00-0253","vp",852.58750,"00-0253",807.58750,0,1
"00-0265","vp",852.66250,"00-0265",807.66250,0,2
"00-0277","vp",852.73750,"00-0277",807.73750,0,2
"00-0299","vp",852.87500,"00-0299",807.87500,0,2
"00-0313","vp",852.96250,"00-0313",807.96250,0,2
"00-0317","vp",852.98750,"00-0317",807.98750,0,1
"00-0343","vp",853.15000,"00-0343",808.15000,0,2
"00-0357","vp",853.23750,"00-0357",808.23750,0,2
"00-0397","vp",853.48750,"00-0397",808.48750,0,2
"00-0437","vp",853.73750,"00-0437",808.73750,0,2
 

PVPD730

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
805
Unfortunately, you didn't really answer the question. I've noted exactly the same thing. JOCO working just fine until the last day or two. Tonight, nothing. Radio programming is untouched.

Was speculating the whole system was switched to encrypted due to Obama's visit, but that seems a stretch.

(Edit) Tried the three-freq program and did find the OPPD tg. Thanks for that tip. Still want to know what changed that caused previously working programming to simply stop.
Can't really answer his question about the corruption. Doing a fresh upload with Freescan wouldn't hurt. As far as the POTUS visit, there was some encryption used on the KCMO side, but most of the motorcade stuff was clear.
 
Last edited:

bhollingsworth

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
13
Unfortunately, you didn't really answer the question. I've noted exactly the same thing. JOCO working just fine until the last day or two. Tonight, nothing. Radio programming is untouched.

Was speculating the whole system was switched to encrypted due to Obama's visit, but that seems a stretch.

(Edit) Tried the three-freq program and did find the OPPD tg. Thanks for that tip. Still want to know what changed that caused previously working programming to simply stop.
I took the advice of PVPD730 and used the frequencies he listed... which don't at all line up with what is on the database. I'm pleased with getting my scanner back up and running, but was wondering who we need to contact or advise at RR that the database for control frequencies in JOCO is no longer accurate.
 

bhollingsworth

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
13
It's accurate for the most part, however the frequency lineup (specifically the control channels) for JOCO is a bit off. These are what I logged for that portion of the MARRS System with pro96com:
-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"00-0041","vd",851.26250,"00-0041",806.26250,0,3
"00-0085","vdi",851.53750,"00-0085",806.53750,0,1
"00-0291","vd",852.82500,"00-0291",807.82500,0,6
"00-0335","vd",853.10000,"00-0335",808.10000,0,2
"00-0375","vd",853.35000,"00-0375",808.35000,0,2
"00-0443","av",853.77500,"00-0443",808.77500,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0473","ca",853.96250,"00-0473",808.96250,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0953","vd",856.96250,"00-0953",811.96250,0,4
"00-1113","vd",857.96250,"00-1113",812.96250,0,2
"00-1273","vd",858.96250,"00-1273",813.96250,0,3
"00-1381","vd",859.63750,"00-1381",814.63750,0,8
"00-1433","vd",859.96250,"00-1433",814.96250,0,0
"01-1532","vd",771.58125,"01-1532",801.58125,0,4
"01-1652","vd",772.33125,"01-1652",802.33125,0,1
"01-1732","vd",772.83125,"01-1732",802.83125,0,8
"01-1832","vd",773.45625,"01-1832",803.45625,0,3
"01-1956","vd",774.23125,"01-1956",804.23125,0,1
"01-2036","c",774.73125,"01-2036",804.73125,0,0-current control channel

For KCMO:
-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"00-0007","a",851.05000,"00-0007",806.05000,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0021","v",851.13750,"00-0021",806.13750,0,0
"00-0043","v",851.27500,"00-0043",806.27500,0,0
"00-0051","av",851.32500,"00-0051",806.32500,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0077","i",851.48750,"00-0077",806.48750,0,0
"00-0095","ca",851.60000,"00-0095",806.60000,0,0-alternate control channel
"00-0131","vp",851.82500,"15-4095",0.00000,1,2
"00-0137","cv",851.86250,"00-0137",806.86250,0,0-current control channel
"00-0167","vp",852.05000,"00-0167",807.05000,0,2
"00-0170","v",852.06875,"00-0170",807.06875,0,0
"00-0171","vp",852.07500,"00-0171",807.07500,0,3
"00-0187","vp",852.17500,"00-0187",807.17500,0,0
"00-0195","vp",852.22500,"00-0195",807.22500,0,2
"00-0199","v",852.25000,"00-0199",807.25000,0,0
"00-0224","v",852.40625,"00-0224",807.40625,0,0
"00-0225","vp",852.41250,"15-4095",0.00000,1,2
"00-0229","vp",852.43750,"00-0229",807.43750,0,3
"00-0253","vp",852.58750,"00-0253",807.58750,0,1
"00-0265","vp",852.66250,"00-0265",807.66250,0,2
"00-0277","vp",852.73750,"00-0277",807.73750,0,2
"00-0299","vp",852.87500,"00-0299",807.87500,0,2
"00-0313","vp",852.96250,"00-0313",807.96250,0,2
"00-0317","vp",852.98750,"00-0317",807.98750,0,1
"00-0343","vp",853.15000,"00-0343",808.15000,0,2
"00-0357","vp",853.23750,"00-0357",808.23750,0,2
"00-0397","vp",853.48750,"00-0397",808.48750,0,2
"00-0437","vp",853.73750,"00-0437",808.73750,0,2
Do the control frequencies change often? I downloaded UNITRUNKER last night and started playing with it... if the control frequencies I have programmed in now ever change though, will unitrunker identify that based on the frequencies I currently have programmed?
 

wbigcount

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
767
Location
Kansas City
Several weeks/days ago they encountered a system wide IP problem with MARRS, I don't know what exactly the problem is but they have been redoing routers and switches at every site, the control channels have changed. Kansas City has been 851.6000 for almost a year but is using 851.8625 now.. working off of Radio 3
 

bhollingsworth

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
13
Interesting... well my problem appears to be fixed. In the future I would like to discover a resolution on my own. Not knowing what the new control frequencies will be, how is that discoverable? Does Pro96Com and Unitrunker listen on the 700 / 800 band or am I required to have at least a last known frequency programmed?

Better phrased, what is RR database didn't exist and someone wanted to discover Trunked systems around them with a 396xt... how would one do that?
 

wbigcount

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
767
Location
Kansas City
Search with your scanner, set up a custom search from 851 to 860 with CC only mode, same thing for 700Mhz
 

WA0CBW

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,446
Location
Shawnee Kansas (Kansas City)
You can enter ALL the frequencies and the scanner will search all of them until it finds the current control channel. The scanner can't tell a control channel from a voice channel until it hears it sending out control channel data.
BB
 

bhollingsworth

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
13
You can enter ALL the frequencies and the scanner will search all of them until it finds the current control channel. The scanner can't tell a control channel from a voice channel until it hears it sending out control channel data.
BB
I live in Merriam not far from you... on another topic. What antenna do you use? My neighborhood is very wooded, and the out of box antenna on the 396XT rarely picks anything up where I live.
 

mfairleigh

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
58
Location
Olathe, KS
I'm glad to find this thread. My 436HP fell silent at the same time and I've been beating my head against the wall trying to figure it out.

Since my programming is fed from RR via Sentinel, I too would be interested in getting the RR DB updated ASAP! I don't know what the process is to get that done.

I've also been curious about what P25 threshold value people have had the best results with for this system, if you've played with that.

Thanks for any help.
 
Last edited:

linanbob

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
2
I'm back up too. Added the three freqs to the JOCO site, and voila.

Thanks for the good info, gents.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top