Just another Newbie...

Status
Not open for further replies.

GarryG68

Hello everyone, this is my first post, so prepare for some obvious questions, thanks.

I am currently studying for my UK amateur radio “Foundation” licence, and plan to take the exam as soon as the world is back to normal.
Before then I'd like to get a few things straight in my head, mostly because goggling gives many, many answers depending on what you read. So I thought I'd post here and... well, possibly, get many, many answers depending on what I read!

First of is a 'simple' question that apparently isn't so simple. Is it worth getting a cheep hand-held like the Baofeng UV-5R Plus etc when just starting out, rather than spending hundreds on a base unit?
Secondly I know the answer to "What antenna should I get" is "It depends."
So if I said I'm mostly interested in telecoms, CW Morse, RTTY, Pagers, Weather Satellites, Fax, SSTV, and anything else I can find... What antennas should I be looking at?
As far as antenna go long wires are a bit of an issue as I don't have much garden space around me. I do have a chimney stack on the roof with a bunch of old (dead and decaying) analogue TV aerials on, and a few drainage pipes on the back wall of the house that stand up around 2ft from the guttering (one has a satellite dish attached already) that could take an antenna.

I've already had a (little) bit of success on the 2M band simply by hanging a home made dipole in the loft (well better than nothing). I can also pick up quite a lot of strong POCSAG and FLEX signals with a standard whip antenna from inside the house using an RTL-SDR stick (dongle), and have even had some success with a SI4732 kit radio.

What I ideally want (after I get my licence) is a setup that will allow me to decrypt weather satellite and SSTV as well as send and receive Morse. I'm still learning this even though it is no longer a requirement for the exam, I just think it's interesting.