Just bought a new scanner and need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

w_mark_wells

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
7
Location
Conyers, Ga
I recently purchased a Radio Shack Triple Trunking radio scanner. I have the Police Call Volume 6 2002 editon that shows the frequencies of the agencies I would like to monitor. I am having a hard time wrapping my brain around the instructions on programming the trunking. I know some agencies frequencies and have them programmed but need some assistance on the trunking part.
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,069
I recently purchased a Radio Shack Triple Trunking radio scanner. I have the Police Call Volume 6 2002 editon that shows the frequencies of the agencies I would like to monitor. I am having a hard time wrapping my brain around the instructions on programming the trunking. I know some agencies frequencies and have them programmed but need some assistance on the trunking part.
Here is step by step programming for a PRO-163/164. You had better check our database (top of this page) for the latest freqs.
http://forums.radioreference.com/radio-shack-scanners/174136-radioshack-20-163-help.html
 

mciupa

Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
7,261
I recently purchased a Radio Shack Triple Trunking radio scanner. I have the Police Call Volume 6 2002 editon that shows the frequencies of the agencies I would like to monitor. I am having a hard time wrapping my brain around the instructions on programming the trunking. I know some agencies frequencies and have them programmed but need some assistance on the trunking part.
Hi w_mark_wells , welcome to RadioReference :)

Which scanner do you own and what trunking system are interested in programming?

Let us know and I'm sure we can help you. :)
 

dbsar

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
65
Location
OH
Here is a link to a past thread that explains how a trunking system works http://forums.radioreference.com/general-scanning-forum/90802-trunk-scanning.html

And if the system has many different tower sites, you only need to enter the freq (s) listed for the nearest tower.

Here is a link to the EDACS systems. Remember to enter in the Logical Control Numbers in the correct position (read, you will understand) http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/EDACS

P.S. I do agree that using software and your home computer makes the job almost fun.
 
Last edited:

KC5EIB

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Messages
1,482
Location
Flower Mound, TX
Please give us a little more information on where you are. We could give you more detailed programing answers about the systems in your area
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top