Just Curious

dallascowboys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
629
Location
Dothan Alabama
Just wanting to know how everyone has their scanner set up, is it by county or by sheriff, police, fire and etc.

Happy Halloween Everyone
 

Randyk4661

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
68
Location
Garden Grove, CA
For the non encrypted systems I monitor, Los Angeles city for example
One system for the fire dept.
Group 1 is dispatch channels with normal operation tacs.
Group 2 is fireground tacs.

Second system is LAPD
Group 1 is dispatch channels only
Group 2 is Division tacs
Group 3 is Bureau tacs
Group 4 is citywide and special tacs.

For smaller cities I will do one system with groups similar to the ones above.
one or two groups for the police and one or two groups for fire.

It's the same for Los Angeles county sheriff and fire. Different systems for each with different groups depending on the tacs.

CHP is one system with different groups for each county.

I don't think there is a wrong way to program a radio, you have to program it so it works for you, however that may be.
 

timhir25

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
31
Location
Willoughby, OH
I set my up by county. From there I break it down into scan lists for the different police and fire within the county.
 

WB9YBM

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2019
Messages
566
Location
Niles, IL
Just wanting to know how everyone has their scanner set up, is it by county or by sheriff, police, fire and etc.

Happy Halloween Everyone
Happy Halloween to you, too! To answer your question: I personally I assign each bank to either a different service or a different area (like a bank for our favorite vacation spot; here at home have one bank for aero, another for FD/PD, etc.) and if one area (like home) with more frequencies than fit into a single band, use part (or all) of a second bank. (I hope this helps). BTW I developed my own spreadsheet to keep track of everything--it beats trying to remember everything, or scribbling everything in notes....
 

medic9351301

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
1,255
Location
BIRMINGHAM , AL
Birmingham alabama quad county area :
birmingham city police is using full time encryption since no city pd bank

i have 3 scanners
1 bcd 996p2
the following is my set up
bank/ agency
1. my county 911 fire dispatch
2. birmingham city fire and rescue
3.my county sheriff
4 local law enforcement
5. state mutual aid

1. bcd996xt
a couple non simulcast standalone sites
constant search for new ids .

1 1 bc796 with apco p25 card
just the rest of the analog stuff in my quad county area
 

wwhitby

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
1,085
Location
Autauga County, Alabama
I set my scanner up by county or by service. For example, Autauga County, Elmore County, Railroads, Businesses, etc.

For bigger trunked systems, I will break it up into cities or counties. For example, I have Jefferson County, Birmingham, and Hoover all programmed in separate scan lists so that I can listen to those areas individually.

There's no real hard and fast rule as to the best way to set up your scanner. Its just how it works best for you.
 

dallascowboys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
629
Location
Dothan Alabama
Thanks everyone. all this is great info not only for me but also for someone just starting out or gets a new scanner for Christmas. Again thanks for every ones help on this.
 

Metrofire31

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
963
Location
Auburn-Opelika, AL
Birmingham alabama quad county area :
birmingham city police is using full time encryption since no city pd bank

i have 3 scanners
1 bcd 996p2
the following is my set up
bank/ agency
1. my county 911 fire dispatch
2. birmingham city fire and rescue
3.my county sheriff
4 local law enforcement
5. state mutual aid

1. bcd996xt
a couple non simulcast standalone sites
constant search for new ids .

1 1 bc796 with apco p25 card
just the rest of the analog stuff in my quad county area
MEDIC9351301 I also have a BC796 with the P25 card but I've never really figured out where on the programming menu it gives you the chance to input a NAC code for a frequency. Can you give me advice?

Metrofire31
 

medic9351301

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
1,255
Location
BIRMINGHAM , AL
YOU CANT ENTER A NAC OR MONITOR A TRUE P 25 SYSTEM , YOU CAN MONITOR OLDER TYPE 1 OR TYPE 2 /MIX MODE SYSTEMS OR EDACS NOT USING PRO VOICE FORMATS,
 

TailGator911

KF4ANC
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
2,359
Location
Fairborn, OH
I think most people narrow down their interests to what directly affects their immediate area. I live in a small town suburb, so local PD is my main channel, fire 2nd, then county so/fd, then Ohio State Patrol, surrounding counties, mutual aid, then local business and dmr, hams, milair, aviation, rails, feds - I listen to it all. From Taco Bell drive-thrus to NASA space shuttle/station transmissions, if it transmits I will hear it. I use a multitude of radios listed below in my signature. Can't ever have too many radios :)
 
Top