SDS200: Keeping radio on all the time ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

paranoia11

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
103
Location
ME
I leave my scanner running 24/7 and now that I have my new SDS 200 ,I was wondering if I should start shutting it off when not around I/E sleeping, out shopping, or just out side.

Would like your opinion on this, by the way my older scanner a 536 I have kept running since I purchased it several years ago.
 

Remington12G

GØT AES?
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
948
I leave my scanner running 24/7 and now that I have my new SDS 200 ,I was wondering if I should start shutting it off when not around I/E sleeping, out shopping, or just out side.

Would like your opinion on this, by the way my older scanner a 536 I have kept running since I purchased it several years ago.
I always kept my 325P2 on without issues. It ran for about 3 months straight for logging an unknown system. Never had an issue, two way radios are a different story of course.
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
7,640
Location
Louisville, KY
I'd say the scanner was designed to be left on continuously. Look at all the things they do to allow folks to listen to their scanner via the internet. The only thing that can't be done remotely is power the scanner on/off.
 

belvdr

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,497
I'd say the scanner was designed to be left on continuously. Look at all the things they do to allow folks to listen to their scanner via the internet. The only thing that can't be done remotely is power the scanner on/off.
On a 200, it is possible with other gear as it has a physical power switch.
 

paranoia11

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
103
Location
ME
Thank you for all the reply's you all pretty much say what was my opinion also.
 

paranoia11

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
103
Location
ME
I wouldn’t leave the display on all the time, instead set it to come on when a signal is present... or turn down its intensity.
I don't want it to end up like my 536, turning down the display and having it stay dim, because when I turn up the the display of the 536 it never got bright again.
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
10,400
Location
Macomb Twp, Michigan
I don't want it to end up like my 536, turning down the display and having it stay dim, because when I turn up the the display of the 536 it never got bright again.
Some early generation 536's had defective displays that Uniden will replace. Most likely you had one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top