• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

kenwood ltr system question

Status
Not open for further replies.

captaincab

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
412
Location
monitoring delco pa with gre psr300 pro2053 and b
what is needed to program a kenwood radio on a ltr trunking system besides the home channel assignments and talk group info of the talk group i want to be on this is a non public safety ltr vhf system used by several local cab companies. of course i know i will need the software and cables but from what i understand kenwood software is easier to buy than other brands from the company.
 

domes

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
75
You need the address of the shop that operates the system so you can get their permission to use the system and properly program the radio for you. LTR is a simple system but not that easy to "guess" the programming. Just because the system may be licensed for 5 channels doesn't mean that the repeaters are numbered 1 - 5. They may be randomly be numbered 2, 4, 7, 11, 19 so when the system tells your groups radios to go to 11 you have to have the correct freq programmed into your radio's ch 11 position. You also need to know if the system is inverted or not. These things are done to prevent false signals from other nearby LTR systems but also to frustrate bootleggers. (not pointing fingers). If you are trying to work with more than one group with different home channels then you may have to program them in separate zones. The system might also be a PassPort or PassPort type protected system so you might need a LTR radio with imbedded PP-ESN or option board and you will also need PP-LTR software to program the PP functions and the ESN will also need to be activated on the system. Most LTR radios are pass word protected so you probably won't be able to read another radio to duplicate the information. There are other reasons why you need the system operator to program the radio.
 

R8000

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
673
You need the address of the shop that operates the system so you can get their permission to use the system and properly program the radio for you.

Without this permission, your committing theft. Radio shops who own SMR's do it for profit and charge a monthly fee to use their systems. If your having to ask this question, then you didn't obtain permission otherwise they would have programmed the radio for you.

If you just want to monitor, use a LTR capable scanner. Life will be much easier this way.

Just a FYI , SMR's can run GW3 which gives a very detailed view of their trunking system. On Smartnet and digital trunked systems, you can have GW3 automatically inhibit (kill) a suspect invalid radio.When that happens your radio is dead in the water.
 

captaincab

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
412
Location
monitoring delco pa with gre psr300 pro2053 and b
thanks for the info i have the home channel info and talk group id's but it sounds like i need alot more info than i have. the reason why i want to know is i own 12 cabs in philadelphia they are spread among a few dispatch associations i currently use a spare radio for each system i keep for when a cab has radio issues to monitor the cabs but it can be a hassle 3 radios all with power supplies and antennas etc set up was trying to simplify things the radios i have now are used as spares and do have identifers on the system and the radio guy who services most of the system knows how i use them and i do pay for each radio monthly to the system owner so i am not persay trying to cheat the system just make things easier
 

R8000

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
673
Good to hear your not stealing service !

I'd ask your vendor to provide the settings you need. If all is well between you and them, then it shouldn't be a problem.
 

captaincab

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
412
Location
monitoring delco pa with gre psr300 pro2053 and b
thank you r8000 and is the programming simple once i get the settings and stuff i have programmed motorola stuff for my private use in ham radio and my use as a volunteer in the public safety field as well as for my volunteer fire company and before anyone asks yes i own my motorola software legally monster license agreement and all
 

KevinC

Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
4,853
Location
Somewhere other than home :(
thanks for the info i have the home channel info and talk group id's but it sounds like i need alot more info than i have. the reason why i want to know is i own 12 cabs in philadelphia they are spread among a few dispatch associations i currently use a spare radio for each system i keep for when a cab has radio issues to monitor the cabs but it can be a hassle 3 radios all with power supplies and antennas etc set up was trying to simplify things the radios i have now are used as spares and do have identifers on the system and the radio guy who services most of the system knows how i use them and i do pay for each radio monthly to the system owner so i am not persay trying to cheat the system just make things easier
Your profile states you are a tow truck driver???

And you asked the same question about 7 months ago...

http://forums.radioreference.com/kenwood-forum/266517-need-info-ltr-system.html

...which is frowned upon.
 
Last edited:

captaincab

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
412
Location
monitoring delco pa with gre psr300 pro2053 and b
as for the double post i appoligize and i do drive a tow truck gee i was not aware having family in the cab business and owning cabs meant i couldn't list my day to day profession as a tow truck driver since that is what i do as far as work as my cabs are all leased out but i will change my profile to reflect both careers
 

KevinC

Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
4,853
Location
Somewhere other than home :(
You don't have to change your profile. I just happened to notice it said one thing but your post said something else, which could lead people to believe you are being less than honest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top