• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Kenwood MDC

Status
Not open for further replies.

sfd119

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1,668
Couple Kenwood questions.

First, can I enable MDC on all analog channels or do I have to check it on each and every channel?

Second, can I copy my MDC ID list to another Kenwood codeplug or do I have to retype it in on every new codeplug.

Thanks.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
11,160
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
I don't know about all the Kenwood radios, but the MDC is turned on in each personality on the TK5x10 hand held radios.

I've never used MDC id lists, so I've never done it, but try doing a right click and see if you can cut-n-paste it.
 

ramal121

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,660
Location
Sonoma, CA
Most MDC functions become active in a zone when the zone is set for that mode. The only thing that is on a per-channel basis is PTT ID encode.

Once you fill out the ID list you're set to go for multiple radios, just clone them. The only thing that you have to do is change the "OWN ID" before each write.
 

sfd119

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1,668
The problem is I have three codeplugs for an agency. If I add an MDC ID to Codeplug #3, I must add it to the other two. How can I copy them? Motorola I can drag and drop.

As for the MDC per zone, I'll have to look at that. Right now I can turn it on a per channel basis...but in my scenario it'd be easier to just do it on a Zone Level.
 

ramal121

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,660
Location
Sonoma, CA
Yeah sorry, no drag and drop between codeplugs like Motorola. Nice feature though, wish other mfgs would adopt.

You may want to explore import/export to see if that would help you. Check the help files in the software.

What MDC features are you attempting to enable. Some are automatic on all channels when the zone is set for MDC. PTT ID encode is set on a per channel basis, no way around that.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 

sfd119

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1,668
That's what I figured. When I tried import/export it wouldn't let me "copy" the MDC ID list across.

I'm just enabling Post PTT MDC ID across two channels right now, but eventually, it will be on all analog channels for accountability purposes. Just wondering if there was an easier way.

Thanks.
 

Stealthguy05

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
257
Do the Kenwoods do the Data Operated Squelch muting like the Motorolas do?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top