• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Kenwood TK-380 won't transmit

Status
Not open for further replies.

KD9FAL

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
17
I have a Kenwood TK-380 that gives a tone when the ptt is pushed and it will not transmit. I have 9 other radios with the same codeplug in them so it is not that. Anyone have any ideas what I should do. Thanks in advance
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
18,379
Location
LATA 722
Is it programmed outside of its specified frequency range? Might be the VCO not locking.

Does the radio stay on, as in the channel name still showing on the LCD display when you TX? If not, could be a low battery and the radio restarts. Have you tried swapping batteries?
 

KD9FAL

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
17
It is programmed for 443.000, but when it was programmed in the 450-460 range it did the same thing.

The channel name still shows. The battery should be good because I use it with my tk-481 and the other 9 380's just fine. I have some new batteries ordered and will try them when they come in.
 

hill

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,088
Location
Middle River, MD
If it gives a tone it maybe program with no transmit on that channel for receive only. If it is this way will get tones when trying to transmit.

I have a TK-380 picked up cheap that use on 440 and it seams to work fine.
 

KD9FAL

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
17
Hill, it has a transmit frequency programmed in. I have the exact same codeplug in every radio. The only difference is the welcome message, which is my callsign with a number behind it.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
18,379
Location
LATA 722
Yeah, hard to trouble shoot that remotely.

Check the programming to be sure it's not set to TX inhibit. Read it anyway to make sure it's not corrupted. These are older radios….
Check battery voltage, I think it needs to be above 5.8 volts to not trigger the low battery alert. If the battery is weak, or the low battery alart settings have been changed, then that might be an issue.
Doesn't sound like VCO unlock if it does it on frequencies well inside it's designed range.
 

matty909

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2015
Messages
102
Location
diamond bar, California
i believe there could be 3 ranges in the 380/880 radios a low 400-430? mid 450-490 and a high 485-512? have you double checked to model number on the back plate of the radio to make sure it's not a high cut trying to do ham? I have use a 450-490 tk-380 down to 440 and works. I have used a high cut no lower then 462 transmit
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top