• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Kenwood TK-780H-1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mattkuhar

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
136
Location
New Haven County, CT
hi guys, havent used the forums much. does anyone know where i can find the pinout of the serial cable to program this radio? or do i need a RIB? ive had the radio ahwhile and just got the programming software today, but now i need a cable. the ones on ebay seem like its just an RJ-45 to serial cable, no electronics in it so i wanted to make my own cable if i can.

thanks, matt
 

ramal121

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,636
Location
Sonoma, CA
There is indeed a level converter (RIB) for that cable. It's built into the shell of the DB-9 connector. Best bet is just buy the correct one outright.
 

Mattkuhar

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
136
Location
New Haven County, CT
There is indeed a level converter (RIB) for that cable. It's built into the shell of the DB-9 connector. Best bet is just buy the correct one outright.
Ok, I'll buy a cable there cheap enough. Do the cheap Chinese ones from eBay work? Or should I just call up kenwood and buy through them? Sorry if I sound stupid at all, I'm new to the programming.
 

Mattkuhar

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
136
Location
New Haven County, CT
Got mine from Kawamall and haven't had any problems
thats who i was thinking about buying from as well, glad to hear from someone else that purchased from them. did you get the usb or normal serial? i think im going with normal serial because im gonna use an old laptop strictly for programming that has serial/parallel ports
 

Mattkuhar

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
136
Location
New Haven County, CT
Mine is an USB version, and never had a problem. Kawamall purchase also...

Once you program it a time or two, it becomes second nature.

cleve/W5CEM
seems fairly straight forward. i launched the program with no radio attached today and have a few "basic" questions.

1. since the radios will only be hitting each other and not a repeater, do i enter the same frequency for transmit and receive?

2. what is QT/DQT? and do i need to use it?

3. im assuming W/N stands for Wideband and Narrowband correct?
 

N7AS

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
69
Location
Prescott Valley, AZ
1. Yes, enter the same frequency.
2. QT/DQT is the same as Motorola PL and DPL. You don't have t use it unless you don't want to hear anyone else on that frequency, then set both radios to the same code.
3. You are correct.
 

Mattkuhar

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
136
Location
New Haven County, CT
1. Yes, enter the same frequency.
2. QT/DQT is the same as Motorola PL and DPL. You don't have t use it unless you don't want to hear anyone else on that frequency, then set both radios to the same code.
3. You are correct.
1. ok
2. ok cool, so its kinda like the "privacy codes" on bubble pack radios then?
3. :)


Thanks for all the help guys. this forum is awesome.
 

Mattkuhar

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
136
Location
New Haven County, CT
i dont want to anger anyone but...

ok, so the Kenwood TK780H-1 that i have, ive been looking at the used freqs. in my local area here in CT. it appears to me that 161-162 Mhz is completely unoccupied in CT. i was wondering if i could use those freqs without a license since nobody is on them. i dont want to anger the Radio Police on here or anything just curious. i dont have a second radio yet anyways so wont do anything for a while yet. was planning on giving a radio to my buddy about 10 miles away to see if we could get comms up between us using these freqs. not sure as to the cost of getting a license for these freqs. as i understand they are in the business pool (i could make my computer repair business legit if need be to get freqs) just trying to figure out my best plan of action. sorry to be a Noob.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top