• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Kenwood TK3100 multi units help!!! please!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dany-boy

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
5
Hi,
This is my first post on RadioReference..And I have done hrs of searching online to try and answer my own question that way first prior to showing my ignorance on this site for all gurus to see!! but to no avail. So here is my question.
I just bought 3 used kenwood tk3100 two way radios, but after charging them up, I noticed that none of the 3 units talk to each other? which is why I bought them to begin with. The only reason I got these was I thought they would of better quality and more durable than the toy walkies you get from the local Walmart/radio shack. And I only paid $40.00 for the 3 units with kenwood mics.
But I might have bit of more than I can chew on!!! After hrs of searching the net I only ended up more confused (information overload!!!) after reading up on two-way radios!!
I was able to find out that the programming software for these is KPG-48D and the cable is the KPG-22.
But I don't know if I need to be licensed to operate these or not? or to program them if needed?
If this is the case, I might just re-sale them on e-bay and go get some toy ones like midlands, etc.
My wife and kids ride dirt bikes and I wanted a way to keep in touch to avoid getting lost or extremely separated from each other. Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated... Sorry so long!!!
 

dany-boy

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
5
Update!!!! I was able to program the 3 units. But now I have another issue! one of the radios receives fine from the other 2 units, but it does not transmit. Im Only hearing a click noise on the other 2 units but no voices. any ideas?? Thanks in advance for any help...
 

dany-boy

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
5
Also, I was disappointed in the range on these kenwood tk3100 units. less than a street block it seems. bummer..
 

dany-boy

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
5
Also, any suggestions/advise on longer range hand held??? looking to transmit at the least 1-2 miles threw wooded and small hill areas.
Thanks all....
 

ramal121

Lots and lots of watts
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,742
Location
Sonoma, CA
3100s are only two watt units, but they should go for more than a block. Being an older portable, I'll guess they have been kicked around a bit. I can't really say what your exact problem is but here are some common problems I've seen in the past.

The female SMA connector for the antenna has two screws to hold it to the radio frame. If the screws loosen, the antenna will wiggle and eventually break the center conductor of the SMA. This will severely limit your range. Do the antennas wiggle at all?

The mic element will go bad. Although you will not completely loose TX volume, it will go way down and you'll have to scream to be heard.

If the radio is dropped or squashed, it can damage a small adjustment pot. The symptom for this is NO transmit voice and excessively high QT tones.

If a speaker mic is inserted into the acc jack, the plug could get whacked and damage the jack inside. You would loose transmit voice, speaker audio or both.

Sounds like the one needs to be looked at by a qualified repair tech.
 

dany-boy

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
5
Tk-3100

Thanks for the reply Ramal121.

1.) No wiggle at the SMA connector. all nice and tight. I even pulled the round threaded brass piece off to verify no wiggle.

2.) They all have kenwood external speaker mics on them, So I pulled the external mic off the unit to test without it.(thinking bad external.mic possibly ) But same result.. So its very possible that the mic jack element is bad I guess. The other two units sound load and crystal clear with no interference or back noise.

4.) Sounds like from what you said, My money is going on the acc jack even though they have the little metal cover protector screwed in the unit covering the plug and jack. And there are no visible signs of the unit ever being dropped, etc. case looks new.... I guess it could be the button you push to talk that's gone bad also?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top