Kenwood TM-V71A 9 pin serial to USB adaptor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sckeith

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
6
Location
Winnipeg
Hello

I am thinking about getting a Kenwood TM-V71A mobile unit for the home. I want to be able to use the radio with my computer for programming but the optional cable has a 9 pin d serial connector and my computer only has use connectors Would one of those USB to 9 pin D adaptors work with no problem
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
14,731
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
I used to have the TM-D710, which, from my understanding, uses the same RF sections as the V71 but a different control head.
I had no issues programming the 710 with a USB to 9 pin RS232 adapter.

From my experience, and from what I've read at other sites, there seems to be some models that don't do radio programming well. Best bet is to buy one and give it a try. If it doesn't work, don't give up. Return it and try another.
 

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager
Super Moderator
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
6,678
Location
Central Indiana
The USB cable that RT Systems sells for the TM-V71 and TM-D710 is reported to work well. It's less expensive than the Kenwood cable plus a USB to RS-232 converter.
 

LtDoc

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
2,145
Location
Oklahoma
The RT System's cable and converter only work with their software, won't work with any other software (such as Kenwood's). If you get their software then naturally you should get their cables.
- 'Doc
 

Howdy_All

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Mar 1, 2012
Messages
36
Here is what my net search came up with - Programming Cable Kenwood TM-D710 TM-V71 PG-5G PG5G | eBay

I think the one I bought was sold by KAWA

Here is a better site and vendor -http://chirp.danplanet.com/projecthttp://www.ebay.com/itm/Programming-Cable-Kenwood-TM-D710-TM-V71-PG-5G-PG5G-/120496212074s/chirp/wiki

I believe that the Chirp program is free
 
Last edited:

sckeith

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
6
Location
Winnipeg
Thank for the info I see there are lots of options. Will be ordering the radio in the next day or two
 

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager
Super Moderator
Joined
Jul 18, 2004
Messages
6,678
Location
Central Indiana
The RT System's cable and converter only work with their software, won't work with any other software (such as Kenwood's).
Do you have direct experience that it won't work?

I received the following message from Bill Bowen AC8IH in response to my question as to whether or not the RT Systems cable will work with other programs:
ABSOLUTELY - that is how I have my TM-D710A hooked up here and the RTSystems cable works with their software, with the Kenwood MCP-2A program and with UI-View. I've even used it with a terminal program (HyperTerminal) to send direct commands to the TM-D710.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top