Khz vs Mhz vs Kc vs Mc

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikethedruid

Back in the day when I was a SysOp of a BBS, upgrading from a 300 baud modem to a zippy 1200 was quite a jump.
LOL ! Yup. I remember the days very well, dialup internet, with the series of hideous tones before the SHHHHHH of the connection. And you're right, 1200 baud was 4 times the speed. Then came cable internet, and now fiber optic and megabyte transfer rates, not to mention wifi and woreless. We;ve come a LONG way. After the Navy, when I was in college, I took computer programming to meet my math requirement, studied the old IBM BASIC... before gosub and return... beck when every line had a number, and subroutines came after the end command line, and one used goto and the line number to go to subroutines. At the end of the subroutine was another goto line, or a series of goto lines with an if statement... "355 if V=1 then goto 125" where V was a variable set at the first goto to let the subroutine know where to return.' We did our work in basic using terminals which looked like selectric typewriters... no monitor... everything just printed out on green and white tractor paper... For FORTRAN we had to put our programs on punch cards, hand them in to the computer ops, have them run, and get them back and see where it failed, then try to figure what went wrong, and type out a corrected version onto cards, and resubmit it.... GREAT FUN ! (I hated FORTRAN)

bearcatrp

Premium Subscriber
Back in the day when I was a SysOp of a BBS, upgrading from a 300 baud modem to a zippy 1200 was quite a jump.
Oh yeah. Good old days. Ran a BBS for a few years. Bumping up modems for faster speeds was always a joy. Then the internet killed it. Life goes on.

MUTNAV

Premium Subscriber