• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

KPG-22U alternative

Status
Not open for further replies.

KB1VLA

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
278
Location
South Berwick, ME
Hello,
I'm in the market for an aftermarket alternative to the Kenwood KPG-22U cable. Can anyone recommend a good quality item? I'm a little gun-shy about the Chinese stuff from eBay and Amazon.
EDIT: I should add I'm attempting to program and NX-220 with KPG-141DN.
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
8,521
Location
NW Tenn
Your options are buy the factory Kenwood cable or trust a clone cable. If you are programming only a clone should work great for you. If you want to do FIRMWARE then I would go with the Kenwood factory cable.
 

kd4efm

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,667
Location
Florida
And they are not that expensive. Get the real deal.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
14,353
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
I agree, get the real one. They are built very well and I've never had any issues with the real Kenwood stuff.

However, at over $100.00 for a brand new one, it's kind of step if you just want to program one radio. It's kind of a risk thing. Lot's of people have had good luck with the after market ones on many different radio brands so they aren't all bad. As for not finding a Chinese one, not sure how to determine that.
 

kayn1n32008

ØÆSØ
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
6,263
Location
Sector 001
I have 3 aftermarket USB cables that I use for my Kenwood radios. I have even done firmware updates on a couple mobiles with out issue. Unless you have an old radio that requires DOS to program it, get USB cables. These are not old Motorola radios, that are hit and miss with aftermarket cables, they are Kenwood, and every Kenwood I have programmed have been with aftermarket cables, and had no failures. I have programmed: NX-700, NX200, TK-7180, TK-8180, TK7160, TK-760, TK-2170, TK-2212, TK-2202, TK-270(G), TK-280, TK-380. Not one failure, all with aftermarket USB cables. I do not even own an OEM Kenwood programming cable.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

KK6ZTE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
658
Location
California
Interesting experience.

I take it you haven't had issues with the aftermarket cable's TTL conversion chip causing the radio to transmit randomly when the programming cable is inserted and idle? I've got half a dozen of them and they all do that. The factory Kenwood cable doesn't have that "feature".
 

kayn1n32008

ØÆSØ
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
6,263
Location
Sector 001
Interesting experience.

I take it you haven't had issues with the aftermarket cable's TTL conversion chip causing the radio to transmit randomly when the programming cable is inserted and idle? I've got half a dozen of them and they all do that. The factory Kenwood cable doesn't have that "feature".


Nope. Not once. On any of my radios.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

KB1VLA

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
278
Location
South Berwick, ME
Thanks for the responses everyone. I actually had a Chinese cable that came with an older HT, but it didn't work. However, I tried backdating the drivers, and I was in business! Cheap cable worked just fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top