L.A. Harbor - what is source of new interference?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SweetPee

Hi All,

I am new to scanning, and have a Pro 97 scanner. I was wondering if someone could help me figure out the reasons for the recent interference I'm encountering lately.

I have a list of 48 voice frequencies used by one of the terminals I work for on Terminal Island at Los Angeles Harbor. I got this list by using one of their handheld radios, a Motorola "HT 1250" (all the radios there are Motorola) to activate a channel so my scanner could pick it up, and then writing down the frequency. At the terminal, there is one frequency per channel. I have all 48 frequencies programmed into their respective channels in "Bank 2" in my scanner. Each channel has anywhere from about 4 to 8 or so voice users. I have no idea what kind of radio "system" is being used other than it is "conventional".

http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?action=fle&stid=6&en=MARINE TERMINALS

The frequency I am most interested in - 469.087500 - has a "DPL" code also. I have programmed the frequency and it's DPL code into a separate bank as well as in "Bank 2" on my scanner for when I don't feel like hearing everything else. I monitor from either right there at work, or from a distance of about a quarter mile away when I'm not at work. In either case I get heavy interference on this one frequency, the speech being "chopped up" into a rapid, intermittent stream of very legible speech/nothing. Often, if someone from one of the other channels calls my "target" channel, I can hear the caller with no interference, but I either can't hear my target's response at all or it is very choppy. Is this what plain analogue interference sounds like? This interference hasn't occurred until recently, and it only occurs on this one frequency.