Lancaster, PA Frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michael12483

I am new to this and I am trying to figure out the frequencies of Lancaster fire department, so I can listen to the firefighters and PPL Electric in Lancaster, so I can know whats up during storms. Can somebody let me know what they are? Right now I have fire dispatch but I cant listen to the firefighters in h building talking and what not. I am enjoying listening to my scanner, I just got an old Bearcat 210xl from a friend.

NodrogCop

check out the frequencies here (If you haven't done so already): Lancaster County, Pennsylvania (PA) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference

On the scene, most of the fire departments are using UHF repeaters on their apparatus; they are normally low power and don't go much further than the fireground. Some of the UHF channels are listed in the database.

Lancaster is going (hopefully) to a new radio system by the end of the year. It will be a P25 UHF digital trunk system. You'll need a new(er) scanner for that one.

Hope this helps.

Gordon.

W3DMV

Could you elaborate on the UHF repeaters. The only frequency I see listed
in the DB is for 462.775. That is normally issued to industrial type users and the
only two licenses I can find are for Hospice of Lancaster, and Willow Valley, so I
think that info is incorrect.

The FCC files have the usual Police and Water department freqs listed,(VHF-H), and the long
standing fire department (KGH277). They had that call sign when I was there in 1960
and is for their low band system. 33.600, 33.640, 33.820, and 33.900.

If there is other info available, please share. My old home area, and I still visit....

ecps92

462.7500 -462.9000 are generally Paging channels
Not Voice...and definately NOT repeaters

Could you elaborate on the UHF repeaters. The only frequency I see listed
in the DB is for 462.775. That is normally issued to industrial type users and the