BCD436HP: LCN FINDER (need help)

scanphreak

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
189
Location
United States
Good day all,

I've read the older threads, all most from 2015, and I think things have changed with LCN FINDER since then. For example back then I believe there wasn't a 'save' feature in the scanner when pressing F+SYS to get out of the finder. I have just purchased the DMR key and I'm trying to get the LCN for a 5 frequency XPT site. I've programmed everything in to a site, and went to LCN FINDER and so far it's found 1/5.

When I press F+SYS it's prompting me if I want to save, and I do save.

My question is NOW WHAT??? It saved one, I'd like to find out what that 1 LCN is. All of the other old threads do not explain how to retrieve that information.

Can someone please lay out step by step how to review the stored LCNs in the scanner?
 

Whiskey3JMC

Keep your friends close & your radios closer
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
3,749
Location
Southeast PA, USA, Planet Earth
From the radio itself, navigate to system & site in question (if you don't know how to do that, reply back)...
Choose "Set Frequencies"
Choose frequency in question and press "E"
Choose Edit Frequency but do not change the frequency. Instead press "E"
"Input LCN" appears. If LCN finder finds the LCN it will appear here
If no LCN found for frequency, LCN will appear as '0' here

Hope this makes sense
 

Reconrider

Active Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,478
Location
EST
I don't have a 436, but I do have it's daddy, the sds100.

On my sds100, I go to:
Manage Favorites > Favorite Name > Review > System Name > Edit Site > Site Name of whatever you LCN ran > Set Frequencies.
Go through each of the frequencies in there and look for the LCN you want to verify.
Click the frequency > Edit Frequency > Press Enter. The Input LCN should be on the screen now.
If you see 0 = it's likely that wasn't the one that you verified.
 

scanphreak

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
189
Location
United States
Thank you everyone....

I went to the Set Frequencies and found that the LCN 0 had been replaced in one of the frequencies to LCN 2 and the others are still 0. 1 down, 4 to go, it might take a while to get them, but this is a start.
 

Reconrider

Active Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,478
Location
EST
Thank you everyone....

I went to the Set Frequencies and found that the LCN 0 had been replaced in one of the frequencies to LCN 2 and the others are still 0. 1 down, 4 to go, it might take a while to get them, but this is a start.
What I did was set my scanner to LCN search at night and then with morning traffic, it will be popping for shift change
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
9,716
Location
Dallas, TX
Thank you everyone....

I went to the Set Frequencies and found that the LCN 0 had been replaced in one of the frequencies to LCN 2 and the others are still 0. 1 down, 4 to go, it might take a while to get them, but this is a start.
If the system is not busy, then it can take a while to identify all of the LCNs.

Two things to remember:
If you identify one of the LCNs, be sure that you either manually edit your file in Sentinel (or whatever programming software that you use, such as ProScan or ARC536) so that the LCN is saved.

Also, if you restart the LCN Finder, when you do so, all of the LCNs will be rest to zero, starting all over again. It will not 'remember' that LCN 2 (from your earlier session) was found. It'll be reset as well to .
 

Carbuff

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2020
Messages
53
Location
Warren County Illinois
I have found several confirmed LCN on my sds200 most of them I don't have a clue who are, I do know some are farmers I hear them mostly during planting and harvest time and some city transit bus
 

R0am3r

Salt Water Conch
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
538
Location
Oneida County, NY
In my experience, the LCN Finder doesn't work for XPT systems. Set all the LCNs to 0 and see how it works out.
 

scanphreak

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
189
Location
United States
What I did was set my scanner to LCN search at night and then with morning traffic, it will be popping for shift change
This system is a casino, so it's got traffic both day and night. But so far I'm only finding 4 talk group id's and it found the once LCN. I left it on for about 3 or 4 hours with several hits but it never picked up any others.
 

scanphreak

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
189
Location
United States
If the system is not busy, then it can take a while to identify all of the LCNs.

Two things to remember:
If you identify one of the LCNs, be sure that you either manually edit your file in Sentinel (or whatever programming software that you use, such as ProScan or ARC536) so that the LCN is saved.

Also, if you restart the LCN Finder, when you do so, all of the LCNs will be rest to zero, starting all over again. It will not 'remember' that LCN 2 (from your earlier session) was found. It'll be reset as well to .
got it... After I jotted down which LCN captured, I went back and saved it in the scanner. This is how I have it now.

451.3250 LCN 0
451.7250 LCN 2
451.9375 LCN 0
463.6500 LCN 0
463.9750 LCN 0
 

Reconrider

Active Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,478
Location
EST
This system is a casino, so it's got traffic both day and night. But so far I'm only finding 4 talk group id's and it found the once LCN. I left it on for about 3 or 4 hours with several hits but it never picked up any others.
Yeah same here. Took me HOURS upon hours to get an LTR system only to confirm they never updated the numbers lol.

But it's still fun knowing I did the work.
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
7,234
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
This is how I have it now.
Try setting them to 1-5 in frequency order, as the LCN 2 seems to suggest that.

You can always enter all frequencies in a OFT system where it doesn't care about LCN's just to check what TG's there are in the system and how much traffic there are on the different frequencies, if you program each single frequency in a separate site with an individual name to each site.

/Ubbe
 
Top