Legality of decoding P25 Police/EMS/Fire data in an educational video.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrisBoden

Scientist, Author, Weirdo
Now, I like that idea. How would I go about generating a P25 transmission? I'm new to Rx, and nowhere near competent enough for the Tx side of things yet.

AJAT

Premium Subscriber
While it appears to be legal to assemble your SDR stuff to listen and decode data, it may not be legal to divulge the contents of the message or decoded info in your presentation. Here is some wording about that.

"No person not being authorized by the sender shall intercept any radio communication and divulge or publish the existence, contents, substance, purport, effect, or meaning of such intercepted communication to any person"
I guess we are all going to jail. I know you are rightfully quoting the law. I just find it funny that the law says that, yet it happens all the time in plain sight on all scanner forums. The only way I see us “getting away” with discussing things we heard on the scanner and broadcasting feeds is we can be considered “authorized” since it is used by a public service. I am no Lawer

I really don’t understand all the controversy. Isn’t P25 just another type of transmission. So if I taught someone how to build an analog receiver that receives in the public safety bands would that be illegal? If I show someone how to follow a trunked analog radio system on an SDR would I be breaking the law? I don’t see the difference in teaching someone to decode and follow a P25 system or an analog system. Now I do see an issue with encryption which is illegal to decode and nearly impossible. Am I missing something?

RFI-EMI-GUY

Why would merely discussing encryption be a slippery slope? Most commonly used encryption standards are openly published, there is no secret to how it works.