Lemoore FA-18's

Status
Not open for further replies.

exeter1

I live in Central California, near Visalia. Nearly every day I hear, and sometimes visually see, FA-18's flying over (fairly high altitude... hard to acquire visually) from east to west, paralelling Visalia Road/Caldwell. It's my assumption that they're headed to Lemoore NAS, perhaps from China Lake or some other training area around Mojave.

Just a few days ago I bought a Pro97, which is my first scanner, and I'm wondering if anyone knows what freq they'd be using? I'm just learning about the scanner. I have tried the search function on the Aircraft freqs but haven't picked them up. The signal stalker feature seems to be nearly worthless at finding anything. The manual says that it's only for locating extremely powerful/near sources, and they aren't kidding. It doesn't even find my local PD. (Attenuate is off)

Anyway, I'm looking forward to learning much more about it.

DPD1

Look up the field's freqs on airnav.com

You'll get the basic stuff from that. Air to air and other stuff is harder to find... They change that kind of stuff a lot. They primarily stick to UHF. The biggest places they go are the 2508 Joshua Complex, the 2500 southern complexes, and the ocean ranges.

I've heard a few people say they found air stuff with the stalker, but they have to be right over you. And a bigger antenna probably helps.

Dave
http://www.dpdproductions.com
- Featuring the New MilTenna Omni Air Band Antennas -

CORN

Premium Subscriber