• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Linux Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

N_Jay

Guest
I am sure we have a few Linux experts her, so here we go.

I have heard that there is a fairly easy way to remote the Linux main user screen, keyboard, and mouse over the network.


Can someone give me easy instructions.

I want to put my server in the basement and manage it from my desktop.

I realize I could use one of the web management tools, but was interested in getting to the machine directly (X-Windows I guess).

OK, let' see what everyone knows.

Thanks in advance.

(Hmmm, maybe PG can redeem himself. :) )
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
OK, maybe I'm stupid!

How do you get tightVNC to install.

It seems that there are dependencies, but I can't tell what I need to add to my Linux (suse) installation to make it work.
 

16b

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
479
Location
Central Ohio
The best way to install it would be to use an automatic package installer because that will download all of the dependencies automatically. I'm sorry, I don't speak suse so I don't know the name of the automatic package installer that comes with it. If someone else can provide the name, you will probably find that it is already installed. Debian based systems usually use apt and RedHat based systems tend to use yum; not sure about suse, though.
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,977
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
I'm assuming you are using Windows "upstairs".

For command line only you can "telnet" to the Linux machine in the basement.

I use a program called "putty" to "ssh" to various linux machines.

If you want the graphical desktop, you'll need a X11 server application "upstairs" and then you can telnet or ssh in to the basement machine and then run "nautilus" which will give you your linux desktop.

It's easier if your machine upstairs is also linux - the you can just telnet over and run "nautilus".

Hopefully this is helpful. If not, tell me how far off I am here....
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
16b said:
The best way to install it would be to use an automatic package installer because that will download all of the dependencies automatically. I'm sorry, I don't speak suse so I don't know the name of the automatic package installer that comes with it. If someone else can provide the name, you will probably find that it is already installed. Debian based systems usually use apt and RedHat based systems tend to use yum; not sure about suse, though.
I think it is YAST.

I have been trying that but can not seem to get the exact sequence of steps right.
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
troymail said:
I'm assuming you are using Windows "upstairs".

For command line only you can "telnet" to the Linux machine in the basement.

I use a program called "putty" to "ssh" to various linux machines.

If you want the graphical desktop, you'll need a X11 server application "upstairs" and then you can telnet or ssh in to the basement machine and then run "nautilus" which will give you your linux desktop.

It's easier if your machine upstairs is also linux - the you can just telnet over and run "nautilus".

Hopefully this is helpful. If not, tell me how far off I am here....
Yes, teh main desktop is WinXP.

I am fairly sure I want to use VNC (or something VNC like).

I have it running on my WinXP server and like the functionality.

For something that came out of the Linux/Unix world, it took me about 2 min to have it up and running on my XP boxes, and it has been hours on the Linux box and I am not there yet.
 

mike_webb59

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
201
Location
New Braunfels, TX
This is more of an Xwindows configuration IMHO.

If you just want to login onto the linux desktop, a commercial Xwindows program like Humingbird Exceed should do the trick. It will connect to the desktop/Xserver that runs on your linux system.

If you want to see the obp (reboot), then you would need to capture the console output. Much harder.

HTH, Mike
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
mike_webb59 said:
This is more of an Xwindows configuration IMHO.

If you just want to login onto the linux desktop, a commercial Xwindows program like Humingbird Exceed should do the trick. It will connect to the desktop/Xserver that runs on your linux system.

If you want to see the obp (reboot), then you would need to capture the console output. Much harder.

HTH, Mike

That is where I started, looking at an X-windows solution.

Then someone pointed me to VNC and it seemed even better.

Want to give me instructions for getting X-windows set up right?
 

poltergeisty

Truth is a force of nature
Joined
May 7, 2004
Messages
3,827
Location
RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV
N_Jay said:
(Hmmm, maybe PG can redeem himself. :) )

Redeem Redeem!!! I'm always right, it's the responders opinions that get dishonored and require more thought of the reply. Forum fog!

Easy instructions: Expand the cables of a KVM. :lol:

I don't know if this also might help or not, but parallel Knoppix does come to mind. I don't think this would be what you need though. Check into it.

I'm too much of a live CD fan. :)

http://www.linuxhelp.net

http://www.linuxforums.org/

http://idea.uab.es/mcreel/ParallelKnoppix/
 
Last edited:
N

N_Jay

Guest
poltergeisty said:
Redeem Redeem!!! I'm always right, it's the responders opinions that get dishonored and require more thought of the reply. Forum fog!

Easy instructions: Expand the cables of a KVM. :lol:

I don't know if this also might help or not, but parallel Knoppix does come to mind. I don't think this would be what you need though. Check into it.

I'm too much of a live CD fan. :)

http://www.linuxhelp.net

http://www.linuxforums.org/

http://idea.uab.es/mcreel/ParallelKnoppix/
1) sorry a KVM does not fit the bill.
2) parallel computing is not my goal
3) I have avoided the Linux help forum, as I have found a lot of people there miss the practical solutions in their advocacy of Linux. (That is why, I ask here)
 
Last edited:

jlh

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Messages
191
n_jay, i don't use suse, have installed tightvnc on slack and mandrake without a problem. if tightvnc won't work for you, try any of the vnc programs, there may be one already installed on your system, i would think suse includes some flavor of it.
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
jlh said:
n_jay, i don't use suse, have installed tightvnc on slack and mandrake without a problem. if tightvnc won't work for you, try any of the vnc programs, there may be one already installed on your system, i would think suse includes some flavor of it.
There is one installed.

I was hoping to use TightVNC because I assumed the Linux version has the same features as the Win version.

The one that is there is very basic.

The one that is there also seems to need to be manually accepted, I need auto accept.
 

16b

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 28, 2004
Messages
479
Location
Central Ohio
I know someone who is more familiar with suse and I will ask him the next time I see him. I think he might have already done exactly what you are trying to do.

I feel your pain with Linux. It takes a lot of patience. After a few years of playing with it on various old or spare computers I am finally running it (Ubuntu 6.06) dual-boot with XP on my main computer with no regrets.
 

mike_webb59

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
201
Location
New Braunfels, TX
N_Jay said:
That is where I started, looking at an X-windows solution.

Then someone pointed me to VNC and it seemed even better.

Want to give me instructions for getting X-windows set up right?

I looked at Tight VNC for a bit; and it actually is a wrapper around Xwindows. Another take at how you can sell something that's actually free. There was a time, wa --aa--ay back, when linux was free, too.

Also, Xwindows is older than dirt; and IMHO a more reliable solution.

It will be a snap to setup the Xwindows client on your pc. I suggest http://x.cygwin.com since it seems that install is completely configured and ready to use. The text version of the documentation is here http://x.cygwin.com/docs/ug/cygwin-x-ug.txt and I will be happy to answer questions

Good luck, Mike
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
mike_webb59 said:
I looked at Tight VNC for a bit; and it actually is a wrapper around Xwindows. Another take at how you can sell something that's actually free. There was a time, wa --aa--ay back, when linux was free, too.

Also, Xwindows is older than dirt; and IMHO a more reliable solution.

It will be a snap to setup the Xwindows client on your pc. I suggest http://x.cygwin.com since it seems that install is completely configured and ready to use. The text version of the documentation is here http://x.cygwin.com/docs/ug/cygwin-x-ug.txt and I will be happy to answer questions

Good luck, Mike
Looks interesting.

Not being a UNIX Linux guy, I will need a tutorial on getting it set up, if you don't mind.
 

dren

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
53
Not to be picky, but it's X Window not X-Windows. See link below. If you say X-Windows on a *nix board, all the know-it-alls start harping. Situations like that are probably why N_Jay asked here. *nix help without a superior attitude is hard to come by these days unfortunately. That's one reason a lot of people are turned off by *nix.

http://www.xfree86.org/current/X.7.html
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top