Listening to CHP in Modesto Area

Status
Not open for further replies.

dbarreras

Ok,

So I am a hobbyist. I have had scanners for years. I have never had any luck getting to listen in on CHP frequencies. I now live in Modesto area, and I've read the very long explanations on radioreference on how CHP does base to mobile and mobile to mobile transmitting.

I still cannot figure out. Anyone else in the same boat?

I currently use a BCD396T Uniden Bearcat Scanner. I also have some Baofeng 2 ways, which I mostly listen to fire channels that don't have the complexities like CHP or p25 channels.

Can anyone point to how to program my Uniden scanner to listen in on CHP?

Thanks for any efforts. If you're local to Modesto, beer on me (y)

- DB

2k1typeSH

Premium Subscriber
CHP in the Modesto area is on the “Yellow,” which is 42.52 a PL of 146.2. The mobile traffic is broadcast this frequency, so there is no need to program in the mobile channel.

You should also be able to receive the Orange channel (45.94) and the White (44.92). Program these channels in the same manner that you program fire frequencies in your scanner.

It should be noted that unlike VHF fire frequencies, CHP’s low band channels require a longer antenna, preferably located outdoors. While I am able to receive fire freqs indoors, I must go outside in order to pick up CHP channels.

dbarreras

Very helpful @2k1typeSH

I am more indoors than out as I am not trying to broadcast my scanner to my neighborhood :unsure:

I was looking at those antenna's that are more wired based and perhaps have plungers that stick to a windows. Any insight on that aspect? I think my issue as you stated over years was the fact that a longer antenna is required, and I am just wondering what others might be doing in order to hear CHP w/o erecting a tower in the back yard?

2k1typeSH

Premium Subscriber