Locked out banks

DaveLevasseur

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
11
Location
Centreville Maryland
Hey guys. I have another question. Probably a simple answer but I can’t figure it out. I have a BCD996P2. I have a group of channels programmed as “0”. In that group I have 9 smaller groups such as frs, cb, etc. I was locking out the smaller groups I didn’t want to listen to and accidentally locked them all out. In the past the only way I know to add a group back in is to press hold in the “0” group and unlock what I want. However this time in the “0” group it won’t stop because all are locked out. Is there a trick to unlock these? I have manually turned the knob to get into “0” but can’t get any to unlock. Last time I did this I just plugged my computer in and downloaded my programming again. I can do the same again but I’m worried next time I will be somewhere without immediate computer access. Thanks in advance.
 

Whiskey3JMC

Avid surfer...of the AIRWAVES!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
1,846
Location
Greater Philly Area, PA USA
I believe what you're looking to do is enable groups within a system? Try pressing 0.1, 0.2, etc. I know this is how to do it on a 536hp, I believe the 996's are the same in that respect
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
4,392
Location
CT

letarotor

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
910
Location
Arlington, TX
I don't have the 996P2 but I imagine it will work the same way. You may have to turn on another Group so that you can scan / program? Try to create a new frequency like 123.450 or whatever and save it to that Favorites List or Group that accidentally got locked out. That unlocks Systems and Departments on the SDS scanners when that same accident happens I know. Then you can go back and delete the frequency you put in just to get things moving. This has been a problem with Uniden scanners since at least the BC235XLT I remember. I always thought they would make it where you couldn't accidentally lock out everything in a Bank but that never happened

Brian (COMMSCAN)
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,499
Location
Baltimore County, MD
The best way to do it is to assign a quick key (1 thru 0) to each group. While scanning a system, pressing the function knob and then the group quick key number will toggle that group on and off. You can readily see which groups are enabled on the display. You can do the same with systems. You can toggle systems on and off by pressing the system quick key number. For 2 digit system quick keys, press the period (.) key first.
 
Last edited:

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,499
Location
Baltimore County, MD
To clarify my last post. You have systems and groups, not banks. Each system can have up to 10 groups. If you have a number of conventional frequencies, you can put them all in one system and then break them down into groups. You will then be able to turn each group on and off separately. You can sort them such as Fire, EMS, Police, Public Works, etc and then easily toggle each group on and off.
 

skyteam11

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Messages
94
Location
White Marsh, MD
To clarify my last post. You have systems and groups, not banks. Each system can have up to 10 groups. If you have a number of conventional frequencies, you can put them all in one system and then break them down into groups. You will then be able to turn each group on and off separately. You can sort them such as Fire, EMS, Police, Public Works, etc and then easily toggle each group on and off.
Yes I understand what you are talking about and I had the same problem and as you the only way I could get it to work was do a complete reboot from the computer. Let me know if you find the answer and good luck.
 

DaveLevasseur

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
11
Location
Centreville Maryland
To clarify my last post. You have systems and groups, not banks. Each system can have up to 10 groups. If you have a number of conventional frequencies, you can put them all in one system and then break them down into groups. You will then be able to turn each group on and off separately. You can sort them such as Fire, EMS, Police, Public Works, etc and then easily toggle each group on and off.

That’s what they are. I mistakenly locked them all out and I couldn’t get them reactivated. I’m going to try putting one frequency in “0” and not assigning it to a smaller group. Probably a FRS frequency so I can just use one of my kids radios to stop it while scanning and hit 1-9. For now I just plugged in the computer.
 
Top