Looking for a longer USB cord

Status
Not open for further replies.

slowthorp76

I'd like to get a longer USB cord for my TRX-1 scanner. Is there anything special I should be looking for? I know the manual says using an incompatible USB cord may damage the scanner. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm a newbie....
Thanks!!

Ensnared

Premium Subscriber
Scanner Damage?

I don't know which USB cable is right for my radio, a different brand. I would like to hear more about how and why an incorrect USB cable would result in a damaged police scanner damage of any brand.

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
I would like to hear more about how and why an incorrect USB cable would result in a damaged police scanner damage of any brand.
So would I...It must have happened to somebody on a freak occasion, they probably complained to the company and demanded a resolution. I've used numerous USB mini cables of different lengths from different sources, I'm sure not all of them originally came from radios & I've never once had a problem with them killing my radios

Blackswan73

There is nothing special about Whistler USB cords. Any standard mini USB will work. I use a 10’ one.

Last edited by a moderator:

bob550

Premium Subscriber
No manufacturer will tell you to "just go ahead and use any cable you care to". Look in any owner's manual for any home electronics product you may own. They all have the same warning about using someone else's cable, battery, or whatever. "Use our cable, product #12345, or your family will turn to dust before your very eyes!"

kh6sz

Premium Subscriber
Like was mentioned before, use an extension cable and use the cable that you normally use, that way there's no way for it to hurt your radio. I've been using a 5' extension cable on all my radios with 0 problems.

Unforgiven_AF