Looking for Scanner - BCD536HP vs BCD 996P2 Functionality Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Armyconrad

Premium Subscriber
So I am looking to get a scanner to use in my truck as a mobile scanner. I'm unfamiliar with scanners (I'm used to actual two-way radios), so I could use a little help. I'm a volunteer firefighter both at my home area and where I go to college at. I'm looking to set it up to where I have a scanlist for my college area, and a scanlist for my home area. Then, have the ability to switch to one specific channel and monitor just that one without scanning the rest. Then in addition to this, be able to monitor multiple systems at my home area of different frequencies (VHF trunked P25 Phase 1 and 800 MHz trunked P25 Phase 1, in addition to some conventional systems). Is it possible to monitor both conventional and trunked systems at the same time depending on what channels I add to the scanlist, and is this all possible?

I'm looking at one of the two scanners mentioned in the title. Are they easy to program/will they be easy to program based on what I am wanted to do with them? Any help will be appreciated.

I'm looking at one of the two scanners mentioned in the title.
Yes, you toggle things on and off with the use of Quick Keys on the 996P2, which I recommend for mobile use.

The 996P2 has no moving parts so it will be very reliable.

This explains the use of Quick Keys:
Easier to Read BCD996P2/XT Digital Scanner Manual

The 536 uses an SD card which goes bad over time, causing head aches:
When bad things happen to good scanners: SD Card Corruption | Scanner Master Blog

Here's an SD Card error from today:
HP-2: - HP2 SD card file error

Good luck!

Last edited:

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber