Looking for the best scanner for me - a NEWBIE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mobilman44

Good Day!
I'm looking for the best scanner to suit my needs. I want a portable, a "phase 2", and need something relatively user friendly for this Newbie. I am computer and smart phone literate, but the world of radio has scared me off for many years - and now I'm ready to jump into it, at least for scanning.

Living in north Harris county (Spring, Texas), I want to access police/fire/ambo transmissions and the like.

Last week I bought a Uniden BC125AT, but soon realized that it was analog and would not capture the transmissions I am after. It was returned to the Factory Outlet Store (nice folks!) yesterday.

Best I can tell, the two likely contenders for a portable phase 2 capable scanner are the Uniden 436Hp and the Whistler TRX1. I've seen reviews of both, but as a Newbie I have no clue which would best suit my needs and more importantly, be easiest for me to learn.

I understand Uniden is coming out with a new one this summer, but I have no clue as to it being worth waiting for and in the same ballpark price levels as the two above I mentioned.

So, I'm asking for your opinions on the subject. I'm not looking to start a "us vs them" flame war, just looking for what you all think would do the job for a Newbie ............

Thank you!!!

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Good Day!
I'm looking for the best scanner to suit my needs. I want a portable, a "phase 2", and need something relatively user friendly for this Newbie. I am computer and smart phone literate, but the world of radio has scared me off for many years - and now I'm ready to jump into it, at least for scanning.

Living in north Harris county (Spring, Texas), I want to access police/fire/ambo transmissions and the like.