Looking to upgrade to a new sw radio, would like some help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

EMSW

Hello, I hope this is the right place to ask this!

I've had a Tecsun PL-380 for about over a year now and have enjoyed the time I've had with it. I'm still a novice when it comes to shortwave but I would like to get more serious and upgrade from my Tecsun. I'll spend up to $500cad and I don't mind a portable or desktop, and as for antenna situation, I am able to build one as I've seen recommended. I would like SSB if possible, too. I've hear the Sony ifc-2010 is good. In regards to antennas, I would like to set one up inside of my shed if possible (there's no appliances or anything). Would a longwire antenna leading to the outside be good? Or perhaps one going around the inside perimeter of the top of the shed. I'm still not very knowledgeable when it comes to antennas, except for the fact that they're good to have.

Thank you! I still have a lot to learn so sorry if my questions aren't very clear.

KB4MSZ

Billy
Premium Subscriber
If you are open to moving to "desktop" units then I would strongly suggest moving into the SDR (Software Defined Radio) family of radios. You don't have to spend $500 and you will receive a lot of features and performance. Many units are well under that price.

Boombox

The benefits of of SDRs are that they have a lot of features for the money.

However, the main negative is that the shelf life is limited to however long your computer lasts before it becomes a fine looking doorstop.