Los Alamos LAPD frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

izmonitor

Good afternoon.

I am a very amateur user; as a newspaper, we have a scanner in our office to monitor what might be going on in the county and provide public safety updates. This is the first time I've had to try to use and set up a scanner.

A few weeks ago, LAPD and LAFD both dropped out when every county agency switched over to the Los Alamos National Lab trunked P-25 system. We rushed out and bought a digital scanner (Radio Shack 668-Pro), and still have not been able to get it to work for the LANL system. Generally, after importing all possible frequencies in the area, I'm only able to pick up very occasional chatter from the state police, and even more occasionally from the DOE systems.

The radio office tells me that they are using P-25, but the RadioReference library still lists LANL as an EDACS system. I've manually switched the settings from the library in the scanner to P-25 (after EDACS didn't work) and tried playing with just about every setting I can find.

Is there anyone out there who knows what settings I could be missing? Again, I know only about as much as I've gleaned from the Internet on this subject, but it seems like maybe the database is outdated. Any help would be appreciated!

com_chaser

First see if you able to listen to the P-25 control channel?
it's on 406.1875

Looks like the EDACS system is still running on 408.5875

Last edited:

hpycmpr

I notice the first five frequencies listed on the LANL EDACS system are the same frequencies as listed on the Los Alamos US DOE P25 system. Probably in a state of transition. Try using the DOE system setup with all TG's enabled.

Steve

chudgoo

Premium Subscriber
So there are a couple of different control channels that are used. They rotate through them every once in a while.
The frequencies I'm aware of (in order of most commonly used to least) are:

(almost never used)