Low band skip from Prudhoe Bay AK 1991

safetypro79

Scanning since 1967
Premium Subscriber
Anchorage-Alaska, Boise-Idaho, Salem-Oregon
In my previous life after retirement from BP Exploration for 35 years and used to work in Prudhoe Bay as a safety engineer I remember one time sitting in his truck with a friend of mine Don who was the safety professional who worked for HC Price company and we were talking work when, we heard these guys with a distinctive Texas accent talking about a minor job accident, we did not recognize the location, it didn’t seem like they were close, being in Prudhoe Bay Alaskan in the Arctic so he picked up the microphone and said: “hey where are you guys located” they said we were someplace in Texas on a job we said we were just calling you from Prudhoe Alaska of course they came back and said: “bull-xxxx” in their typical Texas draw after convincing them we were in fact calling from the Arctic ( one of the guys had a friend who worked for HC Price at Prudhoe) anyway it was interesting because we were just on a low band mobile and over 2500 miles skip.

W8UU

Pilot of the Airwaves
Premium Subscriber
anyway it was interesting because we were just on a low band mobile and over 2500 miles skip.

When low band was heavily used this was a frequent occurrence once skip started rolling. Our local fire department in southeastern Ohio used 33.84 MHz at the time. When band conditions were right, Enfield Connecticut boomed in like a local.

WB5UOM

Premium Subscriber
Ah Yes Low Band- thats a great story!
back in the 80's we had many Customers with 250watt low band base stations...you just never knew who was going to respond when you picked up the local mic and said "Radio Service to any unit for a radio check"

VK3RX

Thaumaturge
Premium Subscriber
1989-1991 was the period of a sunspot peak, and lowband comms from the U.S. romped in at times here in SE Australia.