Luke AFB New 380 MHz Trunked Radio System

Status
Not open for further replies.

KB7MIB

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
3,903
Location
Peoria, AZ.
Luke AFB has abandoned their 400 MHz trunked radio system for a new 380 MHz trunked radio system.

The current (as of 11pm Thursday night) control channel is 386.2500.

We're going to have to figure out the rest of the frequencies, any special offsets (I'm not familiar with 380 MHz systems) if any, and the new talkgroups if they haven't been simply moved over en masse.

John
Peoria
 

KG7LER

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 4, 2014
Messages
56
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Here is what I get using SDRTrunk:

Activity Summary - Decoder:p25 Normal (C4FM)
======================================================
SITE NAC:3DEh WACN:BEE00h SYS:3D6h [0UX XV] LRA:00h RFSS-SITE:01-0Eh
------------------------------------------------------
SERVICES: CONTROL CHAN[ ] SERVICES[ DATA REGISTRATION VOICE ]
------------------------------------------------------
PCCH DOWNLINK 386.250000 [5-500] UPLINK 396.250000 [5-500]
SCCH DOWNLINK 385.037500 [5-403] UPLINK 395.037500 [5-403] SCCH 2 DOWNLINK 385.975000 [5-478] UPLINK 395.975000 [5-478]
SCCH DOWNLINK 385.975000 [5-478] UPLINK 395.975000 [5-478] SCCH 2 DOWNLINK 385.762500 [5-461] UPLINK 395.762500 [5-461]
SCCH DOWNLINK 385.762500 [5-461] UPLINK 395.762500 [5-461] SCCH 2 DOWNLINK 385.037500 [5-403] UPLINK 395.037500 [5-403]
SCCH DOWNLINK 385.037500 [5-403] UPLINK 395.037500 [5-403] SCCH 2 DOWNLINK 385.975000 [5-478] UPLINK 395.975000 [5-478]
SNDCP DOWNLINK 0.000000 [15-4095] UPLINK 0.000000 [15-4095]
------------------------------------------------------
FREQUENCY BANDS:
ID:0 BASE:851006250 BANDWIDTH:12500 SPACING:6250 OFFSET:-45000000
ID:1 BASE:762006250 BANDWIDTH:12500 SPACING:6250 OFFSET:30000000
ID:4 BASE:382937500 BANDWIDTH:12500 SPACING:12500 OFFSET:9000000
ID:5 BASE:380000000 BANDWIDTH:12500 SPACING:12500 OFFSET:10000000
ID:6 BASE:136000000 BANDWIDTH:12500 SPACING:12500 OFFSET:5000000
------------------------------------------------------
NEIGHBOR SITES: NONE
 

KG7LER

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 4, 2014
Messages
56
Location
Phoenix, AZ
There are active tg's

Looks like they may be using the same talkgroups as before.

23:57:18 - 23:57:23 Group Call 107BD0 138C 5-686 388.575000 PRI:4 PACKET
23:55:00 - 23:57:18 Group Call 107FED 1391 5-686 388.575000 PRI:4 PACKET
23:57:04 - 23:57:07 Group Call 107D75 13C2 5-664 388.300000 PRI:4 PACKET
23:58:23 - 23:58:27 Group Call 107B1D 138E 5-652 388.150000 PRI:4 PACKET
23:58:19 - 23:58:25 Group Call 107B13 138E 5-652 388.150000 PRI:4 PACKET
23:55:28 - 23:58:19 Group Call 107AE5 138D 5-652 388.150000 PRI:4 PACKET
23:55:26 - 23:55:37 Group Call 107CED 138D 5-652 388.150000 PRI:4 PACKET
23:55:13 - 23:55:23 Group Call 1391 5-623 387.787500 PRI:2 ENCRYPTED CIRCUIT
23:57:40 - 23:57:45 Group Call 107B1D 138E 5-614 387.675000 PRI:4 PACKET
23:55:14 - 23:57:40 Group Call 138D 5-614 387.675000 PRI:2 ENCRYPTED CIRCUIT
23:58:09 - 23:58:16 Group Call 107B1D 138E 5-595 387.437500 PRI:4 PACKET
23:58:01 - 23:58:15 Group Call 107B13 138E 5-595 387.437500 PRI:4 PACKET
23:55:24 - 23:58:01 Group Call 107C57 1391 5-595 387.437500 PRI:4 PACKET
23:55:49 - 23:55:57 Group Call 107CED 138D 5-520 386.500000 PRI:4 PACKET
 
Last edited:

KB7MIB

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
3,903
Location
Peoria, AZ.
Yea, that's the page that Luke AFB is listed under, but the frequencies need to be updated now, since they switched from their 400 MHz system to a 380 MHz system.

John
Peoria
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,112
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
From what AmeriCam posted it's the same system.
Same WACN, same SID, same RFSS, same site number and same NAC. They just changed the frequencies.
Submit the new frequencies.
 

caphab1

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
176
Location
Mesa, AZ
So, if the system has the same info and aspects ie not changing enc of TG's or even the type of System ie P25 to P2 what is the over all benefit spending the $$ to change the hardware internally so they can have different frequencies? An FCC request due to crowding on the 400mhz range of the band plan?

Only inquisitive
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,112
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
That would be the NTIA and DoD. The FCC doesn't license or manage the 380-400 and 406.1-420 federal government-only bands so whatever reason had nothing to do with the FCC. I don't know why they did it but I am expecting the same thing might happen here at Sheppard AFB.
 

caphab1

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
176
Location
Mesa, AZ
That would be the NTIA and DoD. The FCC doesn't license or manage the 380-400 and 406.1-420 federal government-only bands so whatever reason had nothing to do with the FCC. I don't know why they did it but I am expecting the same thing might happen here at Sheppard AFB.
Interesting. Thanks for the perspective! I will be keeping my eyes and ears open for the change here at sheppard as well.
 

KR7CQ

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
983
Location
Phoenix
So does anyone know all of the frequencies / relevant information to program this current system into a BCD436HP? I see that the database has been updated but it doesn't seem complete.
 

KB7MIB

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
3,903
Location
Peoria, AZ.
You only need the control channels, all of which appear to be in the updated listing.
Not all of the talkgroups have been identified, so there's several missing in the DB until they can be identified.

John
Peoria
 

cellphone

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
1,693
Location
Ahwatukee, AZ (Phoenix)
So does anyone know all of the frequencies / relevant information to program this current system into a BCD436HP? I see that the database has been updated but it doesn't seem complete.


I was in the West Valley today, and was able to run the system through Unitrunker. The DB has been updated with the current frequencies.
 

cellphone

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
1,693
Location
Ahwatukee, AZ (Phoenix)
So, if the system has the same info and aspects ie not changing enc of TG's or even the type of System ie P25 to P2 what is the over all benefit spending the $$ to change the hardware internally so they can have different frequencies?
The system is reporting P25 Phase 2 capable, but I'm not sure not sure if it was only Phase 1 capable prior to the frequency change. Talkgroups were the same when I monitored Sunday. The talkgroups I monitored Sunday (5058 Security, 5032 Fire Dispatch, and 5087 Range Management) were still Phase 1. They might start migrating existing talkgroups to Phase 2 soon.
 
Last edited:

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,112
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
The Sheppard and Altus sites are 400 MHz and VHF but the control channel data contains 7 band plans including 700 MHz and 800 MHz.
The same band plans are broadcast on both sites.
The only band plans that indicate two slots (phase 2) are for 700 MHz and 800 MHz, which aren't even used on this system.

Check the band plan reported by Unitrunker in Arizona and see if that site is the same way.

If the old system in AZ was SmartZone with a 3600 baud control channel (like Sheppard was) then it was not capable of phase 2.
 

cellphone

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Messages
1,693
Location
Ahwatukee, AZ (Phoenix)
If the old system in AZ was SmartZone with a 3600 baud control channel (like Sheppard was) then it was not capable of phase 2.
The old SmartNet systems was decommissioned in 2013 when Luke moved to the current P25 system. I'm not sure if they changed hardware again, or just changed frequencies and did a software upgrade this time.

The overall system is Phase 2 capable, but the current bandplan is not showing 2 slots for 380mhz. Attached is the current bandplan.
 

Attachments

mdevans

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
12
Location
Phoenix
new Luke trunking system

Has anyone actually been able to hear anything? I'm using a homepatrol 1 and have downloaded it onto the scanner but so far nothing. I double checked all the control channels and they all match. Any ideas?

Thanks

Michael Evans
K7URA
 

KG7LER

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 4, 2014
Messages
56
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Just fired it up on SDRTrunk and I am hearing:
5009 1391 D LAFB Testing Testing
5050 13ba D LAFB Fuel Petroleum, Lube and Oil Delivery

I am on control channel 385.0375
 

KB7MIB

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
3,903
Location
Peoria, AZ.
I typically only listen to Luke FD, and they were active yesterday with training, and a couple of alarm activations. I'm at 91st and Peoria Aves.
Where abouts do you live? I once drove around with my PSR-500 with just the 800 MHz duckie, and had decent reception as far east as 43rd and Glendale Aves, and choppy reception to 35th, maybe a little farther east.
An external antenna should get you better distance.

John
Peoria
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top