• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

M7100 Programming Error

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueDevil

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
722
Location
WA
I am using the ProGrammer Software version R18B02 to try and program 2 MA/Com M7100 IP radios. I have had grat success programming other M7100 radios however I am running into and Error with these 2 specific radios. Not sure what I am doing wrong.

Upon reading the radio this is the error message I receive: "Error - radio was programmed with a later version of radio Programmer software. Please contact Software Services."

Does this mean I am SOL?
 

DisasterGuy

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
1,203
Location
Maryland Shore
Do you have a legit license for ProGrammer? If so, contact TAC or log into your Premier account and download RPM9.

If not, I'm not going to provide guidance other than to say you can find instructions here and on the net to roll the radio back.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

ElroyJetson

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,455
Location
Florida, where you wish you were!
The radios were last programmed with a higher version than R18B02.

So you can't READ them.

But you can just program right over them without reading them first, unless they have been set up to be RPM dependent. (VER will read 51 or more on the radio display when the REVISION menu is used and the VER display is called up.)

Unlike Motorola, where a radio is locked into being read and written by the highest software version yet used to program it,
you can always program a Harris radio with an older version as long as the firmware is still compatible.
 

BlueDevil

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
722
Location
WA
It doesn't appear that I can write over the current programming. I am being directed to the radio maintenance program by the programming software...
 

BlueDevil

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
722
Location
WA
Is there an easy way to tell? I can access the revision menu from the remote head of the radio.

For whatever reason it is just these two that I am having problems with. They are labeled as M7100 radios however they may have been purchased at a different time than the others. They came off a couple Motorcycle Police Units.
 

BlueDevil

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
722
Location
WA
I am able to read the radio files with the RadioMaint program that comes with the ProGrammer Software.
 

ElroyJetson

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,455
Location
Florida, where you wish you were!
RadioMaint doesn't read the radio's files. It only reads certain data relevant to the radio's alignment and features.

You can read the ESN and feature string, and tracking data. That is not the radio's file that tells it what to tune to, listen to, and transmit to.

DO NOT mess with the RadioMaint section of the software unless you have been given instruction
in what you are doing. It is VERY easy to wipe your radio out and make it a doorstop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top