Manual addition to scan list for NASCAR freqs'

Status
Not open for further replies.

ddsbstrb

I am a rather new owner of a Whistler 1080 and want to try using it at Kentucky Speedway next week for some NASCAR race scanning. I have been scanning races for many years, using an older Uniden SC230. At most tracks, there are always a couple of vendors who, for a small fee, will put the weekend program of racing (Cup, Xfinity, Trucks, ARCA) into the SC230. I had heard last year, some vendors are coming to an end of offering programs for the SC230. This will probably be the last year for it.

Looking forward and trying to use my new 1080 at the track, anybody use a 1080 at the NASCAR track? I know I can get a very up-to-date list of drivers, car numbers, & freqs' from a race site like Jayski, for the three, big NASCAR series. They, along with the TV/Radio/NASCAR officials are using just regular 400 UHF-FM for radio comm's.

Is it possible to create my own database on a MS Office spreadsheet and load it onto the scanner through the Whistler Software I am using for updates, with my USB cable?

Could you walk me through with the proper steps, if this is possible to do. The manual has a big learning-curve for me!

Thanks so much for you help.

SCPD

QRT
You can import from clipboard, or text / csv file. Text is probably easiest.

Just copy and paste from the website listed .. into your text file. You will likely have to insert the commas manually .. as that is not done automatically.

It would look like this in your text file after inserting commas .. (The commas are needed to separate the AlphaTag and Frequency Data).

Kasey Kahne, 468.2125
Trevor Bayne, 466.2750
Alex Bowman, 461.6625
Sam Hornish Jr., 456.8500
Danica Patrick, 466.9625

What I would do is select the AlphaTag and Frequency Data fields, the rest you can massage in the EZScan software itself.