BCT15X: Match a mobile antenna for a newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrh143

I'm new to the world of radio and scanners. I'm learning a bit as I go. I'm here seeking advice from folks in the know about what antenna best fits the scanner I'm looking to buy (the BCT15X) for my installation in my truck. I have no preference about whether the antenna is permanent mount, hood mount, magnet mount...as long as it doesn't detract from the look of my truck (low key, smoked out, all black '02 Dodge Dakota). I've read elsewhere on here about the Larsen NMO150-450-800 Tri-Band Nmo Antenna which has the kind of style I'm potentially looking for, but I would rather make a fully-informed decision prior to purchase. Is there a better fit I should consider?

My main focus right now (which I admit may change in time as I learn more and more about all this) is listening in on local fire/police/sheriff/public safety traffic as well as weather alerts...and whatever else might be interesting! I don't travel far from home in my truck (20-30 miles normally), but I may take it on a longer trip in the near future. A camping trip to the mountains would take me a couple of hundred miles away, for example, but still in state (North Carolina).

Absolutely any and all other advice is also welcome. Educate this newbie! :)

Thanks in advance! Looking forward to it.

- John

ko6jw_2

Premium Subscriber
It would help if you could be specific about the frequencies you want to cover. There is no point in getting antenna that is not designed for the bands you want to cover.

jrh143

It would help if you could be specific about the frequencies you want to cover. There is no point in getting antenna that is not designed for the bands you want to cover.

I'm not sure how to figure that out. Like I said, I'm a newbie. Is there a place where I can get that info? Do I have to call the agencies and ask them?

ko6jw_2

Premium Subscriber