MDC ID aliasing

Status
Not open for further replies.

K8TEK

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
681
Location
Ohio
Is there any way the admins can add a section so we can add aliases to MDC IDs? I know a lot of people use radios capable of decoding it, not to mention the WinMDC can too!
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,935
Location
Katy, TX
K8TEK said:
Is there any way the admins can add a section so we can add aliases to MDC IDs? I know a lot of people use radios capable of decoding it, not to mention the WinMDC can too!
An idea similar to this was floated about radio id's for TRS'. The current answer is no, for a couple of reasons. It can quickly become an administrative nightmare and it also may prove just a bit invasive. I would assume that an MDC alias section in the DB would even add an additional layer in that there really is no function in the conventional are for attaching a list to an individual frequency or linking the frequencies together.
 

K8TEK

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
681
Location
Ohio
Do one list per agency! I don't imagine a lot of people would use it, but it would be nice to have.
 

Gilligan

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,136
Location
Hagerstown, MD
K8TEK said:
Do one list per agency! I don't imagine a lot of people would use it, but it would be nice to have.
It could have a link in the system notes and basically just be a text file. Anyone who wants to use it would have it. We use something similar for Unidentified Federal and Military here in OKC.
 

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,439
Location
San Antonio, TX
Please use the wiki for this type of stuff - you can create your own lists an databases there that any registered user can manage and access.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top