Memorex Blank DVD's

Status
Not open for further replies.

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,583
Location
Greensboro, NC
Ok, so a couple weeks ago i got some Memorex blank DVD's to do some video file burning and all went well. A couple weeks later, none of those DVD's will work, meaning im not able to burn anything to them. I know nothing is wrong with my burner so i decide to take a look at the blank DVD's. On everyone of the DVD's it has a very thin circle around it as if something tried to burn but failed. These are DVD's that have never been used, and when i first bought them they worked perfect and did not have the ring around it (this was the reason i bought these because my previous one's did the same thing). So, what could be damaging these DVD's?

Thanks!!
 

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,583
Location
Greensboro, NC
I just get that the burn process failed. Like i said, they have that thin circle line around them as if they were already used or something had been burned but they have not been used. They worked when i first got them but after some time thats when i noticed the circle around.
 

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,583
Location
Greensboro, NC
I think its just a crap brand (Bought from Wal-Mart). I use a totally different brand and everything runs smoothly with no issues at all.
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,144
Don't buy any "Windata" brand disks. I needed some DL discs fast one day so I bought these at Micro Center. About 50% of them errored out.
It seems like good DL disks are getting harder to find & more expensive. Sams club used to have memorex but don't carry any DL (8.5 gig) disks anymore.
 

mancow

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
6,543
Location
N.E. Kansas
This is exactly what I encountered last week. I found one or two in the entire stack that worked. They all had that ring that you mentioned too. I used some Maxell brand ones next time and they work fine.
 

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,583
Location
Greensboro, NC
i use memorex all the time, matter fact thats the ONLY brand that i use. are you using Windows to burn or a 3rd party program?
Used windows and a 3rd party. None seemed to work. Also used some blank CD's and they too did not work, but as soon as i used a different brand it worked smoothly.
 
Last edited:

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,583
Location
Greensboro, NC
I used Nero 10 and only thing, from what i can see, that it gives me is just a message that the burn process failed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top