• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

minitor v for weather alerting

Status
Not open for further replies.

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
393
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
ok, so i saw the trhead on the minitor II for this subject, but what about the minitor v? i know i would need a 160-174 pager, but could it be done fairly easily with the software for a normal vhf split?

i know, i know....just get a weather monitor. it does me no good at all when im not at home. this would be easier to carry around, and easier to know whats going on when im out and about.
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,711
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
ok, so i saw the trhead on the minitor II for this subject, but what about the minitor v? i know i would need a 160-174 pager, but could it be done fairly easily with the software for a normal vhf split?
If you have the right frequency split, it would just take about a minute in the programming cradle to program in the weather frequency.

If you have a V and are already using it for fire or ems, you'll need a two channel model to add in the NOAA weather.

III's and IV's will work also fine for this and I don't believe the NOAA channels are affected by the narrowband mandate.
 

FIREPHIGHT

Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
76
Location
Illinois
ok so i built a cradel to program my minitor 5 to the 160 band split but when i read the radio i have limited options someone told me i need a diffrent software and a password to be able to acsses the bandsplit. anyone know of where to get this? my minitor is currently a 2 channel but on the 154 split and i wanted to add the weather band split to the second channel
 

ffexpCP

wizard of odd
Database Admin
Joined
May 15, 2004
Messages
625
Location
Michigan
Band is set by the hardware. Changing the programming and keeping the same (wrong boards) will cause issues.

translation: don't do it.
 

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
7,473
Location
Illinois
ok so i built a cradel to program my minitor 5 to the 160 band split but when i read the radio i have limited options someone told me i need a diffrent software and a password to be able to acsses the bandsplit. anyone know of where to get this? my minitor is currently a 2 channel but on the 154 split and i wanted to add the weather band split to the second channel
Another choice would be to just have NOAA severe weather updates sent to your cell phone, something that can be done in minutes.

73,
n9zas
 

WX9EMS

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
155
Location
Lake Geneva, WI
I don't know about a Minitor V, but I did some hex editing with the Minitor III software and was able to get it down to our local repeater at 146.865, I would imagine the same would apply going to 162.XXX, not that far; Moto gear is usually good a few Mhz out of its bandsplit usually without sacrificing performance drastically. There is a write up on getting to Engineer Mode on Batboard, look it up. I don't have a codeplug to try, so I do not know if it works.
 

NCFire11

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
559
I don't know about a Minitor V, but I did some hex editing with the Minitor III software and was able to get it down to our local repeater at 146.865, I would imagine the same would apply going to 162.XXX, not that far; Moto gear is usually good a few Mhz out of its bandsplit usually without sacrificing performance drastically. There is a write up on getting to Engineer Mode on Batboard, look it up. I don't have a codeplug to try, so I do not know if it works.
It -will- work, but like others said it probably will cause issues..
 

FIREPHIGHT

Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
76
Location
Illinois
!

did the engineer log in trick and found that you can only select band splits that are in you range . you cant go from 155.190 on f1 and 162.550 on f2 the program has selected band splits
 

NCFire11

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
559
The minitor series has predetermined frequency sets for a reason. That set needs to match the internal antenna's resonance, to achieve maximum sensitivity. These things are (supposed to be) good, and work every time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top