• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

minitor v problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
332
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
in the spring and fall times of the year, early in the morning (around 6 a.m.) our fire pagers start going off for bowling green kentucky fire. i live in coffee county tn. from what i see we are one the same frequency. our pagers have no pl tone like the radios. its a big problem for some of us because we have been off of working at night and their test page is every morning when we are asleep. but it doesnt do it any other time of the year.


is the weather a factor here?

73
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,574
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
in the spring and fall times of the year, early in the morning (around 6 a.m.) our fire pagers start going off for bowling green kentucky fire. i live in coffee county tn. from what i see we are one the same frequency. our pagers have no pl tone like the radios. its a big problem for some of us because we have been off of working at night and their test page is every morning when we are asleep. but it doesnt do it any other time of the year.


is the weather a factor here?

73
Low band, high band, or uhf? Weather might be a factor, but not to any great extent unless we get into a solar flare cycle.

They must be using the same tone codes as your department. Any chance you can switch to a different code?
 

NCFire11

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
539
I know in the morning around here we pick up a county about 200 miles away clear as a bell. Just skipping really.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,911
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.973 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

This isn't a problem with the Minitors, it is a propagation issue. Like the other poster, your frequency range is crucial to this issue.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
332
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
sorry, the pager is uhf. i do believe they are on the same freq. as us, but the pagers do not have a pl tone in them. just open receive.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,911
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.973 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

No Minitor has PL. I don't believe any voice pager does.

I know the border along KY and TN is mountainous, si my guess is that you are getting some thermal ducting. These ducts can carry signals much further than usual, and are more commonly formed over large bodies of water, such as the Great Lakes and oceans.
 

Devilz311

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
39
Location
NJ
It's common. Our station Minitor II (VHF) on monitor was picking up dispatches in Virgina this morning crystal clear...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top