Missing EBRCS Central Contra Costa

Status
Not open for further replies.

kfsbasso

Premium Subscriber
I have been scanning for about 30 years, sometimes more actively than others, but it was always at least on in the background with my local police and fire. Then I noticed that my local (Benicia) departments had gone silent. I knew they had replaced their radio system in about 2017, but it hadn’t seemed to make any difference so I didn’t think much about it--until they turned off their analog transmission. Anyway, to make a long story a little less long, I did some research and then gave myself a crash course in trunked, digital systems, EBRCS, P25 and FDMA, got myself a BCD536HP, found RadioReference and learned how to use Sentinel and Proscan, and I am happily reunited with Benicia PD and Fire. I am also enjoying exploring the rest of EBRCS, MERA and other systems suddenly available to me.

The question that I’m hoping someone can help me with is this: Why can I not hear anything from the central part of Contra Costa County? I am particularly interested in ConFire Central Dispatch but would also like to hear other local departments since we used to live in the county and my wife still works there. Here is why it’s a mystery to me: I get Confire West and East, CC Sheriff West, East AND Central, departments as widely spread out as Berkeley, Albany, San Pablo, Richmond and Pittsburg; most of these on CCCO West but occasionally on CCCO East. So why nothing from Martinez, Concord and central ConFire?
1. I’m thinking that I am physically just too far from the CCCO Central transmitter and that these agencies are not represented on the West or East Simulcasts for whatever reason. But if I’m too far from CCCO Central, why can I receive CCCO East? Why can I hear MERA for that matter? My display shows a strong signal from CCCO Central, but no data.