missing parts of sac so

Status
Not open for further replies.

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
i get most of the sheriff tx on sd 1-4, but sometimes itll flicker on the freq but not break the squelch, then go back to the cc and then go to a freq and break squelch again, i have good sig strength, but cant figure it out
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,396
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
i get most of the sheriff tx on sd 1-4, but sometimes itll flicker on the freq but not break the squelch, then go back to the cc and then go to a freq and break squelch again, i have good sig strength, but cant figure it out
Sounds to me like you didn't tell your scanner you are now monitoring a rebanded MOT system. So it goes to what it THINKS is the voice channel, but it isn't, gets lost, and eventually goes back to the control channel.

We're having a local get together today at 4pm to discuss this issue, or any really, and help people get their scanners properly programmed..
 

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

so is this a spacing issue or...its a pro-160 btw
 

sacscan

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
329
Location
Sacramento, CA
Here's the settings I used to program a Pro-160 for the rebanded SRRCS system. This is copied and pasted from an .rtf file I acquired. ;)

Step SELECT or ENTER then Push
1 FUNC + MAN/MENU
2 TRUNK OPTION ENT/PGM
3 BANK number ENT/PGM
4 MOTOROLA ENT/PGM
5 800MHz CH PLAN ENT/PGM
6 CUSTOM ENT/PGM
7 CUSTOM RANGE 1 ENT/PGM
8 BASE FREQ ENT/PGM
9 851.3125 ENT/PGM
10 854.0000 ENT/PGM
11 OFFSET ENT/PGM
12 560 ENT/PGM
13 SPACING ENT/PGM
14 12.5 ENT/PGM
15 CL
(Repeat steps 7-15 with different values)
7 CUSTOM RANGE 2 ENT/PGM
8 BASE FREQ ENT/PGM
9 851.0250 ENT/PGM
10 854.0000 ENT/PGM
11 OFFSET ENT/PGM
12 440 ENT/PGM
13 SPACING ENT/PGM
14 25 ENT/PGM
15 CL
(Repeat steps 7-15 with different values)
7 CUSTOM RANGE 3 ENT/PGM
8 BASE FREQ ENT/PGM
9 851.0125 ENT/PGM
10 861.9875 ENT/PGM
11 OFFSET ENT/PGM
12 0 ENT/PGM
13 SPACING ENT/PGM
14 25 ENT/PGM
15 CL
 

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

that did it, thanks sacscan...is the city system not carrying the county info anymore?
 

sacscan

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
329
Location
Sacramento, CA
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

that did it, thanks sacscan...is the city system not carrying the county info anymore?
Glad that worked for you. :) As far as I know, county law enforcement is still simulcast on the city site. At a friend's house where Site 002 reception sucks bad, I locked out Site 002 and only listen to Site 001. I still hear plenty of traffic.
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,396
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
Srrcs

is the city system not carrying the county info anymore?
It's a "SmartZone" system. That means as long as someone logged in to a county TG is near a city site, then that TG will be broadcast on a city site. If not, it won't be.
 

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

I'm still missing parts if tx, do I need all 3 channel maps at the same time?
 

sacscan

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
329
Location
Sacramento, CA
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

I'm still missing parts if tx, do I need all 3 channel maps at the same time?
Yes. Do this for both sites. On the Pro-160 I programmed, I only put in the four control channels for each site (853.9625, 853.900, 853.775, 853.7125 for Site 001, and 853.875, 853.850, 853.800, 853.6875 for Site 002). I entered the three bandplans on both sites.
 

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

k I did all that, seems like the only time it can't break the squelch is in the 851.xxxx under 852 range
, I'll recheck the custom nimbers I entered...any other ideas?

edit: seems it's not under 852.xxxx but the followong freqs don't break sq...
853.2750
853.2000
852.7000
852.4000
851.4750

all my custom figures are correct, but if I go to menu then trunk then bank then mot then custom range all the values are way diff...those correlate to 800mhz ch plan I entered?
 
Last edited:

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

or custom range would be the scanning range for the whole bank ya?
 

sacscan

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
329
Location
Sacramento, CA
I need to get my Pro-160 out of the closet and mess with it. The one I programmed for my friend worked perfectly by following the directions in the document I copied and pasted earlier in the thread.

I will let you know what I find out with my scanner.
 

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
i really appreciate it, the freqs i listed that the scanner blinks to arent even in the county or city freq listing so its doing bad math, just not sure where its happening
 

NWtoSFO

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
312
Location
Citrus Heights, CA
I've got the Pro-162 (handheld version of the 160) and I have 2 bandplans that look like this:

1) 851.0250 / 854.0000 440 offset 25.0 step
2) 851.0125 / 868.9875 0 offset 25.0 step

Pick up everything just fine. Ironically, this bandplan does not work on my BC346xt at all, and the plan in my BC renders my RS silent. I also programmed a friends Pro-164 and neither one of these worked for that scanner. Tried a different bandplan found in the "big" thread and it worked just fine. Had all 3 scanners sitting together and each one broadcast what each other one was, so each of the bandplans worked for each scanner, but none would work in any of the others. This has been very frustrating to get right.

Matthew
 

sacscan

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
329
Location
Sacramento, CA
I've got the Pro-162 (handheld version of the 160) and I have 2 bandplans that look like this:

1) 851.0250 / 854.0000 440 offset 25.0 step
2) 851.0125 / 868.9875 0 offset 25.0 step

Pick up everything just fine. Ironically, this bandplan does not work on my BC346xt at all, and the plan in my BC renders my RS silent.
That's strange. The bandplan you gave is the exact same bandplan Uniden tells you to use, and it is working fine in all my Uniden scanners, including my BC346XT.
 

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

I'll try this new stuff and we shall se....thx kids
 

NWtoSFO

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
312
Location
Citrus Heights, CA
That's strange. The bandplan you gave is the exact same bandplan Uniden tells you to use, and it is working fine in all my Uniden scanners, including my BC346XT.
I entered the Uniden bandplan and nothing. The plan that has my 346xt working is:

851.0125 / 861.9875 Offset = 0 + Step = 25.0
851.0250 / 859.0000 Offset = 440 + Step = 25.0

I don't know what else to say.
 

whiskeytango

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Messages
320
Location
sacramento ca/reno nv
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.5; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pixi/1.0)

those 2 bandplans have it working bow, thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top