Mobile Antenna. Which one?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NodrogCop

What other bands will you be listening to the other 10% of the time?

Another antenna to keep in mind is the Larsen Tri-band. Excellent results. One link is this: Larsen NMO150/450/800 Tri-Band NMO Antenna

If you're really going to be listening to 800 that much, I would focus on a true 800 antenna for best performance. Just my 2 cents.

Gordon

photogadam

155 and 450-460 too.

If I get a dedicated 800mhz antenna, will I be able to puck up other bands? And if so, how will the performance be?

Thanks, I'm pretty new to this stuff.

colby4601

155 and 450-460 too.

If I get a dedicated 800mhz antenna, will I be able to puck up other bands? And if so, how will the performance be?

Thanks, I'm pretty new to this stuff.

I use an 800 Mhz pigtail antenna on both 800 and VHF and it works great on VHF. It depends on your area, what type of system/conventional you are listening to and your setup of course.

awattam

Mobile Scanner Antenna

I personally use the Spectrum Force Wideband Antenna from Scannermaster which has a mag-mount that works good on the car even at highway speeds. Also its a very low profile antenna with a very thin cable that easily slips between my trunk lid.

SpectrumForce Wideband Antenna with Mag Mount and BNC

I also have the Radio Shack 20-283 which I use as my `portable' antenna which is specially designed for 800mhz but works great all all the frequencies that my PRO-106 can pick up.

Both the above antennas are around $20 each.

jambo