OP25 Mobile radio scanner based on OP25

MTL_Emergencies

Member++
Database Admin
I recently built a mobile radio scanner to monitor P25 trunk communication systems based on OP25 (Boatbod).
I have been working on the project for 3 years and am finally happy to say that it's done!

I am using a NooElec SMArt v3 dongle as hardware, Raspberry Pi 3B for signal processing, 3.5" touch screen for display, power button (with script to safely shutdown/turn on RPi), 15w audio amp for sound (added also a DC-DC converter to isolate ground potentials), 12v input source (to feed audio amp and buck converter 12v --> 5v for RPi). The case is 3D printed with black PLA)

Next steps would be to properly shield the device against EMI and create a startup script (with GUI) to select which systems I want to monitor.

I recently did an interview for the Scanner School podcast where we discussed in detail every aspect of the build. The episode should be coming out soon.

Video: Scanner Demo (communications are in French)

Attachments

• IMG_2781-min.JPG
    IMG_2781-min.JPG
    90.3 KB · Views: 187
  • IMG_2782-min.JPG
    IMG_2782-min.JPG
    73.2 KB · Views: 192
  • IMG_2783-min.JPG
    IMG_2783-min.JPG
    73.1 KB · Views: 180

nick0909

Antenna flicker
Feed Provider
This is awesome. What does the screen look like when it is in use/how much info can it display? I have been considering adding little screens to some of my Pi projects.

MTL_Emergencies

Member++
Database Admin
This is awesome. What does the screen look like when it is in use/how much info can it display?
It displays OP25's web interface that I adapted to a 3.5" screen. Check out the demo for a live view:

Did the top plate warp because of the heat?
No, bad design from me (the cables from the Pi to the screen make this bump on the case).
It doesn't heat up a lot actually (30-35°C). PLA needs higher temperatures to be able to bend.

WB0VHB