• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Modifying a Radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

echo4929

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
46
Hello, I just purchased a Yaesu VX-6R radio and I read online that:

"Radio can be modified for MARS/CAP 40 - 229.975 & 300 - 579.975 MHz Transmit operation"

How would I do that?

Thanks!
 

DaveNF2G

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Messages
9,249
Location
Rensselaer, NY
"echo..." - Are you a licensed ham operator? Your questions so far indicate that you are unfamiliar with either the technical details or the rules & regs of the hobby.

There is no need to "modify" a transceiver for CAP or MARS operation unless you are a member of one of those services. Unauthorized transmissions on military frequencies will land you in a heap more of trouble than transmitting on ham frequencies without a license.
 

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
Modification really isn't needed for your purposes, don't fall into that "trap" of if it can do it why not do it.
I also think you made a wise buy the VX-6 is a nice little radio that I know you will be happy with.
 

n4voxgill

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 15, 2000
Messages
2,579
Location
New Braunfels, TX
when i first joined MARS i modified my 2mtr/440 mobile transciever so I could use the 148 MARS repeater. I noticed that it ruined the selectivity of my radio and picked up nothing but intermod in downtown areas. We used the repeater so rately, that the ham radios I have bought since then, I have not modified any of them because of the intermod problem. Each action does have an opposite reaction.
 

SkipSanders

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,058
Also, both MARS and CAP now prohibit use of 'modified' ham gear. They require proper commercial or military supplied radios now.
 

mlconnell

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
0
Location
El Paso, TX
Nice Radio. Nice decision for your first rig. Dont modify it. If you really needed to do it I would suggest you take it to a qualified technician to perform the mod. Not saying that you can't do it, but you need a little more experience at it and it's not worth destroying your radio. Be safe and happy hamming.
 

n8emr

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
495
SkipSanders said:
Also, both MARS and CAP now prohibit use of 'modified' ham gear. They require proper commercial or military supplied radios now.
I know CAP had an approved list and MARS was going to move but did MARS finally make the narrow band requirement for VHF and UHF?
 

zz0468

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
5,972
Location
175 DME, HEC 358° Radial
Just don't. From your previous posts I've gathered that:

a. You're unlicensed.
b. You're like, 13 or 14.

This is such a bad idea that you need to just drop it. Someone your age has no business with a radio capable of transmitting outside of a ham band.
 

dkostrey

Member
Joined
May 2, 2004
Messages
96
Location
FN31
One thing to remember ... Commercial to ham - fine and dandy. Ham to commercial - $$$fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top