Monitoring A MOTO TRBO Capacity Plus System On DMR Radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

JASII

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
2,294
For those that have experience monitoring a Moto Trbo system with a regular DMR transcveiver, does it matter that order the channels are programmed in? For example, the system I am interested in has two RF frequencies, both TS 1 & 2 are used, I know the Color Code, and there are four different talk groups. In my way of thinking, it might be better to program all four talkgroups for TS 1 and then TS 2, but I am just wondering if it really will matter at all?

Also, monitoring this way, do most transmissions stay on a particular frequency and Time Slot or do they change very often?
 

wx5uif

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2006
Messages
683
Location
Broken Arrow, OK
If you use a Motorola radio set up for Cap+, yes it matters.

I believe you can enter the two channels four times, each with TS1 and TS2, then just assign the RX groups to each channel.
 

Attachments

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,999
Location
Central Ontario
Doesn't matter.

Setup an RX Group List with each of the groups entered in.

Each frequency is programmed in twice, once for each timeslot. Put your RX Group List in here.

Setup a scanlist containing each channel and assign that scanlist to each channel.

The groups are not assigned a specific frequency/timeslot nor do they favour a specific frequency or timeslot on the system so you can program them in and scan them in any order.
 

EricCottrell

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Nov 8, 2002
Messages
2,293
Location
Boston, Ma
Hello,

I think it is better to program a Mototrbo radio with Capacity Plus as Capacity Plus rather than a conventional system. It is a free option. It is possible to make it RX-only so it will not transmit. I setup a zone "channel" with a RX Group List and no TX Group.

The repeaters are assigned to a Capacity Plus voice list and only one repeater definition is needed for the two slots. The channel pool is where you define the repeater info. You do have to know what Cap+ channel pair the repeater is used on. Here is a tutorial on programming the radio for Capacity Plus.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZCSgTP2v-M

73 Eric
 

jonwienke

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
9,257
Location
PA
The OP is not talking about a Motorola subscriber unit, but a consumer-level DMR HT like the TYT MD-380. That's a slightly different animal.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,999
Location
Central Ontario
Totally gapped on that.

Go ahead and enter each timeslot and frequency in as a channel unless your radio had the ability to monitor both timeslots. You can put them in any order.
 

jonwienke

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
9,257
Location
PA
And have one group list containing all the known talkgroup IDs you want to monitor linked to each channel. That way you can add one ID to the list and it will be added to every channel.
 

RayAir

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,774
It's better to just program it in as a Capacity Plus system:

1- Enter Cap+ contacts (groups)
2- Set your Cap+ receive group list
3- Add Cap+ personality channels
4- Enter frequencies to Channel Pool
5- Configure Cap+ voice list (enter frequencies in LCN order)

I like to define the groups 1-1 and I'll create an additional "All group" where it will receive any TX it lands upon on the system. It works well to get a scope of overall system activity, then if one group has something going on you can just turn the dial to the setting for that particular group.

Don't confuse the voice list with the rx group list.

Cap+ programming is pretty simple once you do it a couple times.
 

jonwienke

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
9,257
Location
PA
A MD-380 doesn't work that way. Go back and read the first post. The question is how to monitor a system with a non-trunking CCR like a TYT MD-380 or equivalent.
 

RayAir

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
1,774
A MD-380 doesn't work that way. Go back and read the first post. The question is how to monitor a system with a non-trunking CCR like a TYT MD-380 or equivalent.
Then you're stuck entering all frequencies twice, once for each slot. Assign a rx group list to all frequencies and then create a scan list for the zone.
 

radioguy224

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
168
Location
litchfield county(NWCT) / warren county NY
would this be the same for programming a DMR Motorola Capacity Plus Single Site in my tyt md380


It's better to just program it in as a Capacity Plus system:

1- Enter Cap+ contacts (groups)
2- Set your Cap+ receive group list
3- Add Cap+ personality channels
4- Enter frequencies to Channel Pool
5- Configure Cap+ voice list (enter frequencies in LCN order)

I like to define the groups 1-1 and I'll create an additional "All group" where it will receive any TX it lands upon on the system. It works well to get a scope of overall system activity, then if one group has something going on you can just turn the dial to the setting for that particular group.

Don't confuse the voice list with the rx group list.

Cap+ programming is pretty simple once you do it a couple times.
 

radioguy224

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
168
Location
litchfield county(NWCT) / warren county NY
for those that have experience monitoring a moto trbo system with a regular dmr transcveiver, does it matter that order the channels are programmed in? For example, the system i am interested in has two rf frequencies, both ts 1 & 2 are used, i know the color code, and there are four different talk groups. In my way of thinking, it might be better to program all four talkgroups for ts 1 and then ts 2, but i am just wondering if it really will matter at all?

Also, monitoring this way, do most transmissions stay on a particular frequency and time slot or do they change very often?
will this work for my tyt md 380 radio
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3,406
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
will this work for my tyt md 380 radio
Yes, program one channel with a frequency and TS1 and then another channel with the same frequency and TS2. Continue doing so to all frequencies of that site/system and scan them.

Assign the RX group with the valid talk groups to the channels. And/or use promiscuios mode and monitor all TGs and private calls. The TGs you have programmed will display but the others will only show a blank display.

/Ubbe
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top